Skip to main content

Psychology: Welcome

Journal of the Month

PAIN publishes original research on the nature, mechanisms, and treatment of pain and provides a multidisciplinary forum for the dissemination of research in the basic and clinical sciences.

Full text access: 2000-present

Library Guide for Psychology

This is your guide to finding and using the best Library resources for your subject.

Find print books and journals in the Library, search for articles online, see the best e-resources for your area. Get help using the Library with our guides. 

Let us know what you think about this guide and whether it is useful; your comments will help us to improve this service.

 

Help your Library grow its book collection - suggest a book for purchase!

Is there a particular book we don't have in stock that you feel would be a useful addition to the collection - not just for you, but for fellow students as well?  We can't guarantee we'll always get what you request but we will consider every title put through.

If you would like to request a book to be purchased by the Library fill out the form on the Books For You page and we'll take it from there!

Don't keep us guessing - let us know!

Keep up to date with all the latest news and events on our social media channels

 Twitter - @DerbyUniLibrary

 Instagram- @derbyunilibrary

Key Databases and Journals

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

PsycINFO (via EBSCO)

The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

NEW! Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings.

Web of Science

Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970.
Incorporates the Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index / Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

There is no full-text in this database, instead each article that comes up will have a link to our E-Journals Finder or a link to the publishers website

NEW! Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full-text psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, with particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

NEW! Psychotherapy.Net

Online streaming service with over 300 training videos on key psychological issues. A must have resource for counselling, psychotherapy and psychology students

NEW! Qualitative Research

Qualitative Research Journal features papers with a methodological focus, discussed in relation to specific empirical studies and research problems and papers raising philosophical, theoretical, historical or ideological debates about qualitative research.

Full text access: 2001-present

NEW! British Journal of Educational Psychology

The British Journal of Educational Psychology publishes psychological research that makes a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of education as well as advances the field in terms of theory related to educational psychology.

Full text access: 1931-present

NEW! Cyberpsychology, Behavior, and Social Networking

Cyberpsychology, Behavior and Social Networking is the premier peer-reviewed journal for authoritative research on understanding the social, behavioral, and psychological impact of today's social networking practices, including Twitter, Facebook, and internet gaming and commerce. 

Full text access: 2013-present

NEW! Pain

PAIN publishes original research on the nature, mechanisms, and treatment of pain and provides a multidisciplinary forum for the dissemination of research in the basic and clinical sciences.

Full text access: 2000-present

Jill Boland - Academic Librarian

Jill Boland (Health, Psychology & Social Care)'s picture
Jill Boland (Health, Psychology & Social Care)
Contact:
Academic Librarian – Health and Social Care
**Directly supporting: Nursing & Professional Practice; Psychology, Counselling & Psychotherapy**
Centre for Student Life
University of Derby
Library (Room L103)
Kedleston Road
Derby
DE22 1GB
Tel: 01332 59 1389

My availability for appointments will vary but there are a set amount of slots each week that can be booked up to one month in advance.
These appointments will be online only and for a maximum of 30 minutes.
Please do not book back-to-back appointments.

BEFORE booking an appointment, please look at the Help tab on your Subject guide to see if the information there answers your question. There may also be a drop-in workshop on the Bookings tab at the top of the screen that you can attend to have your query answered sooner.