Skip to main content

Psychology: Key Subject Resources

Key Databases and Journals

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

PsycINFO (via EBSCO)

The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

NEW! Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings.

Web of Science

Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970.
Incorporates the Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index / Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

There is no full-text in this database, instead each article that comes up will have a link to our E-Journals Finder or a link to the publishers website

NEW! Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides full-text psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, with particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.

NEW! Psychotherapy.Net

Online streaming service with over 300 training videos on key psychological issues. A must have resource for counselling, psychotherapy and psychology students

NEW! Qualitative Research

Qualitative Research Journal features papers with a methodological focus, discussed in relation to specific empirical studies and research problems and papers raising philosophical, theoretical, historical or ideological debates about qualitative research.

Full text access: 2001-present

NEW! British Journal of Educational Psychology

The British Journal of Educational Psychology publishes psychological research that makes a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of education as well as advances the field in terms of theory related to educational psychology.

Full text access: 1931-present

NEW! Cyberpsychology, Behavior, and Social Networking

Cyberpsychology, Behavior and Social Networking is the premier peer-reviewed journal for authoritative research on understanding the social, behavioral, and psychological impact of today's social networking practices, including Twitter, Facebook, and internet gaming and commerce. 

Full text access: 2013-present

NEW! Pain

PAIN publishes original research on the nature, mechanisms, and treatment of pain and provides a multidisciplinary forum for the dissemination of research in the basic and clinical sciences.

Full text access: 2000-present

Key Subject Resources

Journal indexes and databases enable you to trace articles on a subject or by an author from a range of journals. Some contain the full-text of journals, some are indexes only (giving the details of articles published but not the full article itself) and some are a mix of the two.  If we don't have access to a journal you will often be able to see an abstract, or summary, of the journal article. This should help you decide how important it is to you especially when you are doing a main independent studies project.

Library Plus includes many of our journal indexes and databases and so is a very good starting point but you may also wish to search other databases separately to get the most out of their search features or because the database is more specific to what you want. 

 

PsycINFO is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and is the largest psychology database devoted to peer-reviewed literature on psychology, behavioural science and mental health. It indexes around 2500 journals from the 1800s and whilst it does not include the full text of any journals, if the library has paid for a journal then there should be a link to the full journal article.

 

PsycINFO is included in Library Plus but you may wish to search it separately as it has specific search features. e.g. it  allows you to narrow searches for example by age, population group or methodology.

 

 

PsycARTICLES (included in Library Plus)

PsycARTICLES contains the complete journal articles from  nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1.

The Psychology Test Bank

The Psychology Test Bank is a collection of scales, questionnaires and measures which have been requested by Psychology staff and students,  and which are freely available either in the public domain or have been cleared for use in research. Students can request a PDF copy of any of these scales from the Psychology Department which will be sent out as an email attachment. 

‘If you wish to request a scale from the Psychology Test Bank, or would like a scale adding, please fill in the online web form

Web of Science (included in Library Plus)
Web of Science (within Web of Knowledge) includes the Science Citation Index (1970-), the Social Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-), which are worldwide indexes to journal articles and conference proceedings. There are no full-text journal articles, but each article displayed has a link 'Check our e-journals A-Z'  to see  if we subscribe to the journal article. One powerful feature is that it informs you which journal articles have subsequently cited a particular article.

It also includes the bibliographic referencing tool Endnote Web. See the Referencing Software guide for more information.