Skip to main content

Psychology: Other Resources

Other Resources

The Library offers specific help and services to online students. For information see the Infocus website (information for off campus students).

If you need help on accessing and finding information such as journals and databases contact Hazel Glasse email: h.glasse@derby.ac.uk

If we do not have a book or journal article you want we can usually obtain it for you using our inter library loans service from the British Library Document Supply Centre. Before putting in a request please check that we do not hold an electronic or print copy. Inter library loans are available to students from stage 2 onwards. Undergraduate students are entitled to 20 requests at a charge of £2.00 per item. Post graduate students are allowed 20 free of charge and then a further 20 at £2.00 per item.

Please note that we are unable to borrow books for online students unless you are able to collect from the library.

See the Inter Library Loans help page for more information.

The online catalogues of the British Library and  COPAC are very useful for finding out which books have been published. COPAC is a combined catalogue of the British & the other UK National Libraries and large research university libraries.

The catalogues of local public libraries are usually available online. 

You may use most university libraries for reference purposes. You should be able to see their library catalogue through their library web site.

SCONUL Access  This scheme enables part-time, distance, and placement students to borrow material from other higher-education libraries in closer proximity to where you live or work. Many of the UK University and HE colleges have joined the arrangement. To join, you must first have a valid University of Derby ID card. You can then apply to join by completing the online form on the SCONUL Access website. Some libraries in the SCONUL Access scheme also provide limited access to computing facilities. You will need to be a SCONUL Access member, as detailed above. Computing facilities, where offered, usually include access to the Internet and a suite of office applications. Do not expect to access another library's electronic resources. To find out what is offered, please get in touch directly with the library you want to visit.

The Psychology Test Bank

The Psychology Test Bank is a collection of scales, questionnaires and measures which have been requested by Psychology staff and students,  and which are freely available either in the public domain or have been cleared for use in research. Students can request a PDF copy of any of these scales from the Psychology Department which will be sent out as an email attachment. 

‘If you wish to request a scale from the Psychology Test Bank, or would like a scale adding, please fill in the online web form

Gale OneFile News  is a searchable database which contains the full text (not images) of  UK & foreign newspapers  including:

National newspapers e.g. Daily Telegraph 2000-, Financial Times 1999-, Guardian 1990-, Observer 1993-, Sunday Times 1985-, Times 1985-

Local & regional newspapers e.g. Belper News 2007-, Buxton Advertiser 2002-, Derby Telegraph 2013-, Derbyshire Times 2002-, Ilkeston Advertiser 2007-, Matlock Mercury 2002-, Nottingham Evening Post 2012-

To search for newspapers only, select Publication Search, then specify Format - Newspapers. You can select United Kingdom under Country.

 

Times Digital Archive contains the complete digital editions of The Times newspaper from 1785 - 1985, searchable by keyword.

The Quick Reference guide has links to websites and e-resources including official statistical publications, reference material, dictionaries, encyclopaedias and maps.

 

A number of Bibliographic or Referencing software packages are available which you can use to save and store references. See the Referencing Software guide for more information.

Many databases allow you to save articles in a folder. To do this in Library Plus, you just need to create a personal account & remember the username you have given when creating the account. Click here for further information about searching and saving in Library Plus.