Skip to main content

Environmental Management and Health: Finding Books

Finding e-books

Please note that not all texts are available in e-book format.

The Library cannot digitise or create e-books in-house; they must be purchased via academic suppliers. E-books can only be purchased for institutional multi-user access if the publishers have made them available. Many publishers (particularly those of texts aimed at practioners, as opposed to students) have not made their titles available as e-books.

Some titles will be available for individual e-book purchase (i.e. via Amazon for Kindle) but not for institutional purchase. The availability of an e-book via Amazon or a similar online e-book seller is no guarantee that the title in question will be available for the Library to buy.

The Library catalogue includes electronic book (e-book) titles.

You can identify e-books from print books as they are identified by eBook or eResource underneath the book's title (see example below).

If you want to narrow your results down to just e-books, you can either select the Collection or the Format from the options in the left-hand column (see example below).

To access the e-book, click on the title of the book you wish to look at. On the subsequent record page, there will be a small green arrow next to a link for the platform hosting the e-book (see below). Clicking on this link will take you to the website hosting the e-book. Please ensure you are logged into UDo before you follow any links from the catalogue, as it is your UDo login details that allow you access to these resources.

 

E-books  may work in slightly different ways from the different suppliers. Most commonly you can "Read online" which allows you to see the book on the screen. You can search within e-books, make notes, bookmark sections and, within copyright restrictions, copy and print pages.

You can also usually download an e-book, but note that the download will usually last 24 hours and is not permanent.

 

 

The Quick Reference guide has links to websites and e-resources including official statistical publications, reference material, dictionaries, encyclopaedias and maps.

The University has access to Ordnance Survey Digimap, Historic Digimap and Geology Digimap.

Finding print books

Use the library catalogue, to search for  books, e-books, print journals, DVDs in the library.

You can search by Author (just the surname) and/or Keyword (e.g. a keyword from the book's title). The catalogue gives you the location of the book (the shelfmark number), number of copies, the type of loan (reference-only, standard ( i.e. three weeks), or one week loan) and the due date, if a copy is currently on loan. Books can be reserved and renewed via the catalogue. A guide is available to using the library catalogue.

 

 Books on environmental management and health are not all shelved together. Some of the main library locations are:

Environment & resources (general) 333.7 Water pollution (general & management) 363.7394
Environmental impact assessment 333.714 Contaminated land (general) 363.7396
Environmental management 333.715 Noise (general environmental issues) 363.74
Environmental policy & conservation 333.72 Environmental chemistry 540
Energy resources 333.79 Analytical chemistry 543
Biological Conservation 333.9516 Climate change 551.6
Food law (lower ground floor) 344.04232 Water pollution : ecology 574.5263
Environmental law (lower ground floor) 344.046 Food microbiology 576.163
Housing law (lower ground floor) 344.063635 Health (general medical) 613
Public health (general) 362.1 Occupational health 613.62
Risk assessment: safety 363.102 Epidemiology 614.4
Health & Safety (general) 363.11 Acoustics & noise control 620.2 / 620.23
Radiation (health & safety) 363.1799 Environmental engineering & technology) 628
Food safety 363.1929 Water pollution (technical) 628.16
Housing 363.5 Waste disposal (technical) 628.4
Environmental health (general) 363.7 Pollution & waste (technical) 628.5
Waste management (general) 363.728 Air pollution (techncial) 628.53
Pollution & waste (general) 363.73 Contaminated land (technical) 628.55
Air pollution (general & management) 363.7392 Soil analysis 631.41
       

 

The Quick Reference and Statistics Collections are in the Vault on the upper ground floor of the Kedleston Road Library and include general dictionaries, encyclopaedias and databooks. Statistical publications include official UK and world statistics. Many statistics are now published online but the collection still includes current material, especially worldwide statistics, and is an important historical collection.

Other printed law reference resources: UK Acts of Parliament, Statutory Instruments, Case Reports, Halsbury’s Laws of England are shelved in the Law Collection (Lower Ground Floor).

If a book you want to borrow is on loan to someone else or is held at another of our Libraries, you can place a reservation via our library catalogue. This means our staff will find the book if it is at another library, or if it is currently on loan the current user will not be able to renew it when their loan period expires and must return it.

When the book becomes available it will be sent to the Library of your choice and held on the reservation shelves for you to collect. You will receive an email to your student email account telling you when the book is ready for collection.

Note: at certain time periods or with particularly popular titles, there may be a queue of reservations. If the book is also available as an ebook we will email you to let you know, in case you prefer to use this instead of waiting.

Books we don’t have can usually be obtained through the inter library loans service (usually from the British Library Document Supply Centre).  Before putting in a request please check our library catalogue.  Inter-library loans are available to students from Stage 2 onwards.  Post graduate students are allowed 20 free of charge and then a further 20 at £2.00 per item. N.B. We can not provide books on inter library loan for Distance Learning students.

See the Inter Library Loans help page for more information.

We offer a postal loan service for online learning students living in the UK for our Library books (unless we have it as an e-book).

 

 

The online catalogues of the British Library and  COPAC are very useful for finding out which books have been published. COPAC is a combined catalogue of the British & the other UK National Libraries and large research university libraries.

The catalogues of local public libraries are usually available online. 

You may use most university libraries for reference purposes. You should be able to see their library catalogue through their library web site.

SCONUL Access  This scheme enables part-time, distance, and placement students to borrow material from other higher-education libraries in closer proximity to where you live or work. Many of the UK University and HE colleges have joined the arrangement. To join, you must first have a valid University of Derby ID card. You can then apply to join by completing the online form on the SCONUL Access website. Some libraries in the SCONUL Access scheme also provide limited access to computing facilities. You will need to be a SCONUL Access member, as detailed above. Computing facilities, where offered, usually include access to the Internet and a suite of office applications. Do not expect to access another library's electronic resources. To find out what is offered, please get in touch directly with the library you want to visit.