Skip to main content

Environmental Management and Health: Key Subject Resources

Key Databases and Journals

British Standards Online

All British Standards are included in the Library subscription to British Standards Online including  ISO Standards if there is a BS equivalent. You do need to go through the Library pages to access full British Standards and not the public website

Environment Online Full-Text Database

These contain updated online collections of documents, reports and publications from the  UK  and EU Parliaments, UK Government Departments, professional bodies, associations and organisations.

Science Direct (Elsevier)

Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.

Westlaw

Westlaw is one of the most important legal databases used here at the University of Derby. You can use it to find law reports, legislation, journal articles and ebooks.

NEW! Environment and Behavior

Environment & Behavior brings you international and interdisciplinary perspectives on the relationships between environments and human behavior.

Full text access: 1999-present

NEW! The Holocene

The Holocene is the first journal dedicated to fundamental scientific research on environmental change over the Holocene epoch.

Full text access: 1999-present

NEW! Marine & Freshwater Research

Marine and Freshwater Research is an international and interdisciplinary journal publishing contributions on all aquatic environments.

Full text access: 1950-present

Key Subject Resources

IHS databases 

These contain updated online collections of documents, reports and publications from the UK and EU Parliaments, UK Government Departments, professional bodies, associations and organisations.

The databases included are:

  • Environmental Management
  • Occupational Health & Safety Information Service (OHSIS)  (includes Environmental Health)
  • Construction Information Service
  • Food & Drink Safety

British Standards Online 

Full access to British Standards. Includes ISO Standards if there is a BS equivalent.

Digimap  contains current and historical Ordnance Survey maps and British Geological Survey maps. Login to the UK Federation and type in 'University of Derby Shibboleth' as your institution. You need to register in order to use Digimap.

Digimap UOD Quick Guide V5  (A quick guide to using Digimap through the University of Derby).

 

Westlaw is one of the most important legal databases. You can use it to find law reports, legislation, journal articles and ebooks.

If when you log in to Westlaw, you see a pop-up box asking you to sign in to your Westlaw UK Profile just click Skip.

LexisLibrary is the second of the main legal databases used at the University of Derby. You can use it to find law reports, legislation, journal articles, as well as an online version of Halsbury's Laws of England.

For more information see the Library guide for Law.

 
 

General Information

Law cases are reported in a number of different law reports series. When references are made to these law reports they  are usually abbreviated. e.g. All ER is All England Law Reports. We have many printed law reports in the Law Collection on the Lower Ground Floor of the Library but you will find it easier to use the online law databases of Westlaw and LexisLibrary.

The Westlaw and LexisLibrary databases include many complete law reports. For some cases the citations only are given (i.e. brief details of where the case was reported). Each of them includes the full text of different law reports so it is worth using both of them.

Annoyingly, the abbreviations are not spelled out. This is common in legal publications. If you want to see what the abbreviations mean, a good source is the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations http://www.legalabbrevs.cardiff.ac.uk/

Westlaw

Click on Cases at the top. If you have the names of the “Parties” involved you can type in one or both surnames or organization in the Party Names search box.  If you are looking for cases on a subject then use the Free Text search box. When the results of the search are displayed, you will be able to see a “case analysis” which is a summary of the case. It will also show you where the case has been reported (using abbreviations of the titles of the law reports) with live links for any full-text reports available in Westlaw.

LexisLibrary

If you have the names of the “Parties” involved you can type in one or both surnames or organization in the Case Name search box.  If you are looking for cases on a subject then first select the Case tab and then use the Search Terms search box. You will given a summary of the case and LexisLibrary will show you where the case has been reported (using abbreviations of the law reports) with live links for any full-text reports available.

Other sources for case law

LawCite is a database which lists where information on cases may be found. It tells you if a case is available in Westlaw or LexisLibrary, and gives links to case reports if these are available without subsrcription.

Croner-i Environment & Sustainability includes some examples of cases. N.B. The Library has a licence for 2 simultaneous users so you may need to try again if it is being used.