Skip to main content

Environmental Management and Health

Other Resources

If we do not have a book or journal article you want we can usually obtain it for you using our inter library loans service from the British Library Document Supply Centre. Before putting in a request please check that we do not hold an electronic or print copy. Inter library loans are available to students from level 4 onwards.

See the Inter Library Loans help page for more information.

The online catalogues of the British Library and  COPAC are very useful for finding out which books have been published. COPAC is a combined catalogue of the British & the other UK National Libraries and large research university libraries.

The catalogues of local public libraries are usually available online. 

Gale OneFile: News  is a searchable database which contains the full text (not images) of  UK & foreign newspapers  including:

National newspapers e.g. Daily Telegraph 2000-, Financial Times 1999-, Guardian 1990-, Observer 1993-, Sunday Times 1985-, Times 1985-

Local & regional newspapers e.g. Belper News 2007-, Buxton Advertiser 2002-, Derby Telegraph 2013-, Derbyshire Times 2002-, Ilkeston Advertiser 2007-, Matlock Mercury 2002-, Nottingham Evening Post 2012-

 

Times Digital Archive contains the complete digital editions of The Times newspaper from 1785 - 1985, searchable by keyword.

The Local Collection is a special collection of books, journals and reports about Derbyshire, the Peak District and the East Midlands and is located at the back of the first floor. It includes a significant number of books and reports on the geography of Derbyshire and the Peak District as well as the journal East Midland Geographer. See the Local Collection guide for more information.

The Derby City Local Studies library holds an extensive collection of local material. Other county libraries have local studies libraries which may be useful for independent studies.

A number of Referencing software packages are available which you can use to save and store references. See the Referencing Software guide for more information.

Many databases allow you to save articles in a folder. To do this in Library Plus, you just need to create a personal account & remember the username you have given when creating the account. Click here for further information about searching and saving in Library Plus.