There may be times when you need to do research on a particular sector or industry - to find out which companies are the major players in that sector, what their market share is, or perhaps how customers feel about a particular product or which are the most popular products. We have two databases you can use for this kind of information - Mintel and Marketline.
Mintel provides market research information - including detailed reports on particular UK markets, such as travel and leisure, soft drinks, athletic clothing etc. It also provides wider insight articles into general trends affecting global consumer markets, such as climate change, Covid-19, sustainability. You can search across Mintel by these trend drivers, or by demographic, or by region.
Marketline provides detailed country-level industry profiles, including industry size and segmentation data, textual and graphical analysis of industry growth trends, leading companies and macroeconomic information. However, it does focus more on financial information, rather than the kind of consumer-focused market research that Mintel provides.
You can learn more about each of these database by selecting the tabs in this box.
Mintel is a database containing UK market research intelligence. It provides detailed market research reports on a wide range of UK consumer and industrial sectors, as well as case studies and insight articles on particular trends, demographics. So if you wanted to research, for example, what the most popular soft drinks were, or when the most popular time to eat chocolate was, Mintel can give you the answer!
We have a short video below, which will introduce you to the basics of using Mintel. You can also use the Mintel user guide available here - link
Marketline is the best database to search for global business and company information, covering the automotive, consumer, energy, financial services, healthcare and technology sectors. It contains over 2,400 industry profiles and country and sometimes city profiles as well. So if you researching a particular industry or sector, both globally and within specific countries, Marketline would be the best database to use.
You may want to download the Marketline user guide to give you some direction when you first start using Marketline - link - or watch some of the Marketline guidance videos - link.
We also have a short video showing the basics of using Marketline available to watch below.
ProQuest One Business is a comprehensive business database, containing journal articles, eBooks, case studies, news, videos and market, company and industry reports.
One of its features are its Industry and Country Reports. Industry Reports provide information on a particular industry or sector, including the top companies operating in that sector, recent new articles concerning that sector, and reports covering financials, employment, risk, competitors etc, and journal articles and trade articles relevant to that sector. Country Reports provide country-level reports on issues like economic forecasts, political outlooks, risk factors, economic indicators and more.