Skip to main content

Geology & Environmental Hazards: Home

Key Databases and Journals

AAPG Datapages/Archives

A comprehensive database & archive of American Association of Petroleum Geologists Bulletin & associated publications.

Digimap Collections

Digimap Collections provide access to current and historical Ordnance Survey maps, and British Geological Survey maps.

HOW TO ACCESS
To access Digimap Collections, you need to:
* Select any resource from the menu
* In the search box, type in 'University of Derby'
* Select the link and click 'Continue'
* Enter your details in the registration form and click 'Next'

Science Direct (Elsevier)

Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.

Knovel Interactive E-Book Library

Searchable collection of over 6,000 engineering, technology and applied science books.

Journal of the Geological Society

Journal of the Geological Society publishes topical, high-quality recent research across the full range of Earth Sciences.

Access from 1971 to present

NEW! Marine and Freshwater Research Journal

Marine and Freshwater Research is an international and interdisciplinary journal publishing contributions on all aquatic environments

Full text access: 1950-present

NEW! The Holocene

The Holocene is the first journal dedicated to fundamental scientific research on environmental change over the Holocene epoch, 

Full text access: 1997-present

Library Guide for Geology & Environmental Hazards

This is your guide to finding and using the best Library resources for your subject.

Find print books and journals in the Library, search for articles online, see the best e-resources for your area. Get help using the Library with our guides. 

Let us know what you think about this guide and whether it is useful; your comments will help us to improve this service.

Email: h.glasse@derby.ac.uk 

Please check here for regular updates

Help your Library grow its book collection - suggest a book for purchase!

Is there a particular book we don't have in stock that you feel would be a useful addition to the collection - not just for you, but for fellow students as well?  We can't guarantee we'll always get what you request but we will consider every title put through.

If you would like to request a book to be purchased by the Library fill out the form on the Books For You page and we'll take it from there!

Don't keep us guessing - let us know!

Keep up to date with all the latest news and events on our social media channels

 Twitter - @DerbyUniLibrary

 Instagram- @derbyunilibrary

Academic Librarian support clinics

Please attend the Academic Librarian clinic that is relevant to your subject i.e Human or Environmental Sciences

Hazel Glasse - Academic Librarian

Hazel Glasse (Human and Environmental Sciences)'s picture
Hazel Glasse (Human and Environmental Sciences)
Contact:
Tel. 01332 591479
Kedleston Road Library
Room L103

My Hours:
Monday - Wednesday 8.30-5.00
Thursday 8.30-4.30
Friday 8.30-5.00

To help you in your studies there are Workshops and Library Clinics that you can attend.

You will need to register for these events and, for the clinics, you will need to come prepared with a question or topic that you're having difficulty with.

Click on the Bookings tab in the banner at the top of the page to see what's available