Skip to main content

Public Health: Welcome!

Main Databases

Science Direct (Elsevier)

Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.

Web of Science

Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970.
Incorporates the Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index / Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

There is no full-text in this database, instead each article that comes up will have a link to our E-Journals Finder or a link to the publishers website

PubMed Central

Open access Life Science & Medical journals. Hosted by the National Library of Medicine.

No password is needed.

MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

Occupational Health and Safety Information Service

Full-text collection of documents on health and safety from UK organisations.

Scopus

Subjects: MANY

Description: Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings.

Contents: Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Abstracts

Access: UDo/Ezproxy

EBSCOhost logo

Medline

Subjects: Health & Social Care

Description: MEDLINE provides authoritative citations and abstracts in biomedical and health matters for nurses, doctors, health-care professionals and researchers.

Contents: Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Abstracts

Access: UDo/Ezproxy

Coronavirus: freely available articles from scientific / academic publishers

Click here for links to free scientific articles from academic publishers on COVID-19

  • The BMJ has an overview of 2019-nCoV, the 2019 novel coronavirus which can be accessed on the BMJ Best Practice website and there are additional links about the timeline, an opinion piece and more which can be accessed via the BMJ website
  • Oxford Academic Journals are also making their coronavirus resources freely available via their coronavirus page
  • The journal publisher Wiley is currently making articles related to the coronavirus, from their journals, free to access. You can access the articles via this link: https://secure.wiley.com/Coronavirus2020
  • You can also do a search on PubMed or PubMed Central for "novel coronavirus" to see what may have been recently published that is available. You may need to be logged in to UDo to access some of the articles.

 

Last updated: 17 April 2020

Upcoming Workshops and Drop-Ins

Welcome

General Library Events - any student may book on one of these sessions but please click on the link for the event to see full information as the sessions will be across a number of different sites. If you hover your mouse over a date it will tell you how many sessions are scheduled for that day. If you click on the date it will display a full list.

If a workshop you would like to attend is not being offered at your home site please get in touch to let us know.

Suggest a book

Help your Library grow its book collection - suggest a book for purchase!

Is there a particular book we don't have in stock that you feel would be a useful addition to the collection - not just for you, but for fellow students as well?  We can't guarantee we'll always get what you request but we will consider every title put through.

If you would like to request a book to be purchased by the Library fill out the form on the Books For You page and we'll take it from there!

Don't keep us guessing - let us know!

Jill Boland

Jill Boland (Health & Social Care)'s picture
Jill Boland (Health & Social Care)
Contact:
Academic Librarian – Health and Social Care
Centre for Student Life
University of Derby
Library (Room L103)
Kedleston Road
Derby
DE22 1GB
Tel: 01332 59 1389

My availability for appointments will vary but there are a set amount of slots each week that can be booked up to one month in advance.
These appointments will be online only and for a maximum of 30 minutes.
Please do not book back-to-back appointments.

BEFORE booking an appointment, please look at the Help tab on your Subject guide to see if the information there answers your question. There may also be a drop-in workshop on the Bookings tab at the top of the screen that you can attend to have your query answered sooner.

Hazel Glasse

Hazel Glasse (Life & Natural Sciences)'s picture
Hazel Glasse (Life & Natural Sciences)
Contact:
Tel. 01332 591479
Kedleston Road Library
Room L103

My Hours:
Monday - Wednesday 8.30-5.00
Thursday 8.30-4.30
Friday 8.30-5.00

My availability for appointments will vary, but my core booking hours are between
09:30 & 4:30 Monday to Friday

Appointments outside of core hours are potentially available upon request.