Skip to main content

Sport and Exercise: Home

Key Databases and Journals

PubMed Central

A searchable collection of medical, biomedical and life science journals from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  It contains  a large number of freely accessible titles, though the most recent issues of journals may not be available. This is a useful journals database for physiology & health related topics. 

Science Direct (Elsevier)

Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.

NEW! Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings.

SPORTDiscus Full Text

SPORTDiscus provides access to full text articles from 550 sport & exercise journals and indexes many additional journals & books.

Web of Science

Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970.
Incorporates the Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index / Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

There is no full-text in this database, instead each article that comes up will have a link to our E-Journals Finder or a link to the publishers website

NEW! Pain

PAIN publishes original research on the nature, mechanisms, and treatment of pain and provides a multidisciplinary forum for the dissemination of research in the basic and clinical sciences.

Full text access: 2000-present

Library Guide for Sport and Exercise

This is your guide to finding and using the best Library resources for your subject.

Find print books and journals in the Library, search for articles online, see the best e-resources for your area. Get help using the Library with our guides. 

Let us know what you think about this guide and whether it is useful; your comments will help us to improve this service.

Email: h.glasse@derby.ac.uk 

What's On

Check here for details of library training events, workshops and tours.

Support for online students
 

The calendar below lists all sessions from the library, both online and on campus. To see just online sessions, click on the drop-down menu for Site and then select Online (UDOL).

Help your Library grow its book collection - suggest a book for purchase!

Is there a particular book we don't have in stock that you feel would be a useful addition to the collection - not just for you, but for fellow students as well?  We can't guarantee we'll always get what you request but we will consider every title put through.

If you would like to request a book to be purchased by the Library fill out the form on the Books For You page and we'll take it from there!

Don't keep us guessing - let us know!

Keep up to date with all the latest news and events on our social media channels

 Twitter - @DerbyUniLibrary

 Instagram- @derbyunilibrary

Academic Librarian support drop-ins

Please attend the Academic Librarian drop-in that is relevant to your subject i.e Life and Natural Sciences

Hazel Glasse - Academic Librarian

Hazel Glasse (Life & Natural Sciences)'s picture
Hazel Glasse (Life & Natural Sciences)
Contact:
Tel. 01332 591479
Kedleston Road Library
Room L103

My Hours:
Monday - Wednesday 8.30-5.00
Thursday 8.30-4.30
Friday 8.30-5.00

My availability for appointments will vary, but my core booking hours are between
09:30 & 4:30 Monday to Friday

Appointments outside of core hours are potentially available upon request.