What is it?
A methodology describes in detail how a study was completed.
Why do I need it?
Including a methodology in your dissertation allows for the study to be replicated. Your ethical considerations are usually also considered around your dissertation section to show that you have thought carefully about the impact your research might have on others.
How do I do it?
Literature Review
Even if you are writing a literature review you will be expected to include a methodology section to explain how you conducted your searches. Have a look in the downloadable resources section to find a PDF that poses questions to help you think about what you might need to include in your methodology.
Primary Research
There are many methods of primary research, as it is a broad term used to describe any research collected from a primary source. Primary research is usually split into qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methods.
Qualitative
Qualitative research is usually chosen when conducting research which is related to the social sciences (Wisker, 2009). It includes methods such as interviews, focus groups and observations. These may come under terms such as ethnography, phenomenology or grounded theory. The data gathered is usually in-depth and it is likely, when conducting qualitative research, that the theory will emerge or adapt, as data is being collected (Rudestam and Newton, 2014). The downloadable resources provide more information on qualitative methods and the PDF poses questions to assist you in writing your methodology.
Quantitative
Quantitative research is analysed objectively, it assumes there are facts which can be gathered (Whisker, 2009), usually using numbers or statistics. Don't be put off by the word statistics, this can simply mean in percentages or pie charts (and we've all used them at some point). Using a quantitative method allows a researcher to gather a large amount of data. It includes methods such as questionnaires, surveys, and observations.
Mixed Methods
A mixed methods study may include both a qualitative and quantitative approach. For example, someone might want to collect quantitative data from a questionnaire, whilst also conducting interviews to gain the depth of understanding from qualitative results.
Rudestam and Newton (2014) describe the differences between qualitative and quantitative data:
|
Quantitative |
Qualitative |
|
|
Planning Your Dissertation by
This essential guide takes students through the planning for each stage of their dissertation, from hatching an idea to handing in their finished project. Short, succinct chapters cover everything from devising a research question and engaging with the literature to choosing a methodology and structuring an argument. It features ten sample dissertations from a range of subject areas, so that students can better anticipate what lies ahead, practical advice at every step and action plans to keep students on track.This book is the ideal companion to all students completing a dissertation as part of their undergraduate or postgraduate studies, whatever their subject area. New to this Edition:- Expanded content on using theory and writing abstracts- Includes more examples from students' dissertations, including an outline for a performing arts dissertation
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
Writing a dissertation is like running a marathon: a successful one takes months of careful planning and preparation. This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
The Undergraduate Research Handbook by
This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas. New to this Edition: - Features new and updated content on the internet and critical thinking, and analytical skills in relation to developing and following through with a research agenda
Surviving Your Dissertation by
Perfect for graduate students as well as behavioural and social scientists who supervise and conduct research! In the fully updated Fourth Edition of their best-selling guide, Surviving Your Dissertation, Rudestam and Newton answer questions concerning every stage of the dissertation process, including: selecting a suitable topic conducting a literature review developing a research question understanding the role of theory selecting an appropriate methodology and research design analysing data interpreting and presenting results. In addition, this must-have guide covers topics that other dissertation guides often miss, such as the many types of quantitative and qualitative research models available, the principles of good scholarly writing, how to work with committees, how to meet IRB and ethical standards, and how to overcome task and emotional blocks. With plenty of current examples, the new edition features an expanded discussion of online research, data collection and analysis, and the use of data archives, as well as expanded coverage of qualitative methods and added information on mixed methods.
The Dissertation Journey by
This book is not a technical manual to help doctoral students through the minutiae of conducting in-depth qualitative or quantitative research. Instead, this how-to manual will focus on the practical aspects of writing and organizing a dissertation, in particular, the psychological and social hurdles that are involved. The author uses a conversational and encouraging tone along with plenty of graphics, quotes, illustrations, and sample forms to guide doctoral students through the process of preparing, writing, and defending their dissertations. Features }} checklists, organizing graphics, in-depth list of resources for further inquiry, quotations, illustrations, and other user-friendly elements }} full of easily accessible, practical advice that is administered in small bites. }} conversational, warm, and personal writing style unique to this genre.
How to Write Dissertations and Project Reports by
Fully updated since first publication in 2007, and with extended and revised sections in key areas such as Plagiarism & Copyright, Ethics in research, and Citing & Referencing, How to write Dissertations & Research Projects will allow a student to assess and address their particular weaknesses in researching and writing dissertations and longer pieces of coursework and delivers detailed tips, techniques and strategies to enable them to significantly improve their abilities and performance in time to make a difference.
