Planning Your Dissertation by
This essential guide takes students through the planning for each stage of their dissertation, from hatching an idea to handing in their finished project. Short, succinct chapters cover everything from devising a research question and engaging with the literature to choosing a methodology and structuring an argument. It features ten sample dissertations from a range of subject areas, so that students can better anticipate what lies ahead, practical advice at every step and action plans to keep students on track.This book is the ideal companion to all students completing a dissertation as part of their undergraduate or postgraduate studies, whatever their subject area. New to this Edition:- Expanded content on using theory and writing abstracts- Includes more examples from students' dissertations, including an outline for a performing arts dissertation
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
Writing a dissertation is like running a marathon: a successful one takes months of careful planning and preparation. This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
The Undergraduate Research Handbook by
This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students' experience of research. This text will be invaluable to undergraduate students undertaking academic research in all subject areas. New to this Edition: - Features new and updated content on the internet and critical thinking, and analytical skills in relation to developing and following through with a research agenda
Surviving Your Dissertation by
Perfect for graduate students as well as behavioural and social scientists who supervise and conduct research! In the fully updated Fourth Edition of their best-selling guide, Surviving Your Dissertation, Rudestam and Newton answer questions concerning every stage of the dissertation process, including: selecting a suitable topic conducting a literature review developing a research question understanding the role of theory selecting an appropriate methodology and research design analysing data interpreting and presenting results. In addition, this must-have guide covers topics that other dissertation guides often miss, such as the many types of quantitative and qualitative research models available, the principles of good scholarly writing, how to work with committees, how to meet IRB and ethical standards, and how to overcome task and emotional blocks. With plenty of current examples, the new edition features an expanded discussion of online research, data collection and analysis, and the use of data archives, as well as expanded coverage of qualitative methods and added information on mixed methods.
The Dissertation Journey by
This book is not a technical manual to help doctoral students through the minutiae of conducting in-depth qualitative or quantitative research. Instead, this how-to manual will focus on the practical aspects of writing and organizing a dissertation, in particular, the psychological and social hurdles that are involved. The author uses a conversational and encouraging tone along with plenty of graphics, quotes, illustrations, and sample forms to guide doctoral students through the process of preparing, writing, and defending their dissertations. Features }} checklists, organizing graphics, in-depth list of resources for further inquiry, quotations, illustrations, and other user-friendly elements }} full of easily accessible, practical advice that is administered in small bites. }} conversational, warm, and personal writing style unique to this genre.
How to Write Dissertations and Project Reports by
Fully updated since first publication in 2007, and with extended and revised sections in key areas such as Plagiarism & Copyright, Ethics in research, and Citing & Referencing, How to write Dissertations & Research Projects will allow a student to assess and address their particular weaknesses in researching and writing dissertations and longer pieces of coursework and delivers detailed tips, techniques and strategies to enable them to significantly improve their abilities and performance in time to make a difference.
Developing Effective Research Proposals by
This is your step-by-step guide to success with your research proposal. This new edition covers every section of the proposal, telling you all you need to know on how to structure it, bring rigour to your methods section, impress your readers and get your proposal accepted. With practical tips and advice throughout, new features include: Comprehensive explanation of method and methodology, and how to maximize this crucial section of your proposal A new section on mixed methods: an increasingly common approach in research A new chapter on how to get it right with ethics Fresh exercises and activities, now for each key chapter. The Third Edition provides an authoritative and accessible guide for anyone tackling a research proposal. It is perfect for students in education, nursing, health, and across the social sciences.
Ethics in Social Research by
This volume supports the ethical negotiations of empirical researchers and enhances understanding of the complex imbrication of ethics and knowledge in contemporary social research. It deals jointly with the role of ethics in, and the effect of ethics on, social research.
Ethics in Qualitative Research by
This fresh, confident second edition expands its focus on the theoretical and practical aspects of doing qualitative research in light of new ethical dilemmas facing researchers today. In a climate of significant social and technological change, researchers must respond to increased ethical regulation and scrutiny of research. New sources, types of data and modes of accessing participants are all challenging and reconfiguring traditional ideas of the research relationship. This engaging textbook explores key ethical dilemmas - including research boundaries, informed consent, participation, rapport and analysis - within the context of a rapidly changing research environment. The book effectively covers the ethical issues related to the data collection process, helping readers to address the ethical considerations relevant to their research. This fully updated new edition: - Maps the changing and increasingly technology-reliant aspects of research relationships and practices - Provides researchers with guidance through practical examples, enabling those engaged in qualitative research to question and navigate in ethical ways This book is essential reading for all those engaged in qualitative research across the social sciences.
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics by
Why should every researcher consider the ethical implications of their work? What constitutes ethical research? How can best practice be maintained throughout a research project? This reader-friendly book examines the ethical issues and questions that occur in university and professional research and will help both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research. The book thoroughly examines the broader ethical issues that arise throughout research, from the design stage through to data collection and analysis. It also investigates topical issues such as content, confidentiality and ethical questions in the dissemination of research. There are also discussions of ethical theories as well as case studies that highlight dilemmas and how they can be avoided or resolved. This new edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the greater emphasis researchers must now place on ethics and includes information on: Ethical concerns of the internet and technology Regulatory frameworks and research governance Ethical requirements of funding bodies The involvement of research participants in research design Codes of ethics within different disciplines 'Ethical Dialogue' and 'Ethical Dilemmas' boxes feature throughout the book in order to highlight key issues. There are also further reading sections at the end of each chapter as well as expanded coverage of plagiarism. The Student's Guide to Research Ethics is an invaluable tool for both undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as professionals who research as part of their jobs.
The Literature Review by
This second edition of Diana Ridley′s bestselling book provides a step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and literature review, using cases and examples throughout to demonstrate best practice. Ridley outlines practical strategies for conducting a systematic search of the available literature, reading and note taking and writing up your literature review as part of an undergraduate research project, Masters dissertation or PhD thesis. New to this edition are: Examples drawn from a wide range of disciplines A new chapter on conducting systematic reviews Increased guidance on evaluating the quality of online sources and online literature Enhanced guidance in dealing with copyright and permissions issues. This book also comes with a companion website containing a wide range of examples of successful literature reviews from various academic disciplines. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
