There are various resources to help foster a critical thinking mindset, helping you to engage with deeper critical thinking skills. Critical thinking helps you to make better decisions, with clear judgement, and it can be put into practice to help your day-to-day life and your academic studies.
LinkedIn Learning is an online skills development service which offers University of Derby students free access to an extensive library of high quality video courses to develop your critical thinking mindset:
- Develop a Critical Mindset
- Critical Thinking for Better Judgement and Decision Making
- How to Foster Critical Thinking and Curiosity
SAGE Student Success provides a collection of online skills modules, allowing University of Derby students to practice and master essential skills for academic success and beyond. Including diagnostic assessments, interactive content and knowledge checks, it provides targeted support for a wide range of skills. Modules to support a critical thinking mindset include:
There is also a list of recommended reading resources to support you.
-
How to Think
by
ISBN: 1529727413Publication Date: 2021-09-03This is a book about thinking. Engaging and down-to-earth, it captures the habits and practices that are fundamental to clear thinking and effective study. -
-
Identifying and evaluating arguments is a key skill in critical thinking, and with practice, you will be able to elevate your studies to the next level. You will learn why it is important to identify helpful and reputable resources, and identify patterns, biases, and irrelevant research, all of which can affect the decision-making process.
LinkedIn Learning is an online skills development service which offers University of Derby students free access to an extensive library of high quality video courses to develop your critical thinking mindset:
SAGE Student Success provides a collection of online skills modules, allowing University of Derby students to practice and master essential skills for academic success and beyond. Including diagnostic assessments, interactive content and knowledge checks, it provides targeted support for a wide range of skills. Modules to support identifying and evaluating arguments include:
There is also a list of recommended reading resources to support you.
Problem solving and reasoning is a key skill, and you can develop your ability to draw logical conclusions based on facts, statements, or arguments and to identify the strengths and weaknesses of those arguments.
LinkedIn Learning is an online skills development service which offers University of Derby students free access to an extensive library of high quality video courses to develop your critical thinking mindset:
SAGE Student Success provides a collection of online skills modules, allowing University of Derby students to practice and master essential skills for academic success and beyond. Including diagnostic assessments, interactive content and knowledge checks, it provides targeted support for a wide range of skills. Modules to support problem solving and reasoning include:
- Deductive and Inductive Reasoning
- Fallacies and How to Spot Them
- The Power of Good Explanations
- Evaluating Evidence Effectively
- Heuristics and Cognitive Biases
- Overcoming Bias
There is also a list of recommended reading resources to support you.
-
Oxford Guide to Effective Argument and Critical Thinking
by
ISBN: 9780199671724Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Synthesising information in the context of critical thinking, means combining what you think and the ideas that you have discovered, to create a new way of looking at things.
SAGE Student Success provides a collection of online skills modules, allowing University of Derby students to practice and master essential skills for academic success and beyond. Including diagnostic assessments, interactive content and knowledge checks, it provides targeted support for a wide range of skills. Modules to support synthesising information include:
- Information has value
- Information’s not neutral, and neither are individuals
- Missing and unheard voices
There is also a list of recommended reading resources to support you.
