This archive includes the archive of over 50 regional and national newspapers from the 19th century.
Titles include Glasgow Herald, Manchester Times, and Northern Echo.
To access the archive, follow the link here, or click the image above.
This archive includes the archive of over 1000 newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries.
It also includes Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations.
Newspaper titles include Bath Chronicle, Calcutta Chronicle and General Advertiser, and Dublin Gazette.
To access the archive, follow the link here, or click the image above.
This archive includes the archive of over 90 periodicals (magazines, journals, and some newspapers) from the 19th century.
The collection covers many different titles that reveal life in the nineteenth century and which will be a valuable resources for exploring changing attitudes to life in the UK and the UK's developing society.
To access the archive, follow the link here, or click the image above.
This archive includes American historical newspapers from 1770-1963.
Titles are extensive and cover many states and regions of America.
To access the archive, follow the link here, or click the image above.
The library provides a digital archive of The Telegraph from 1855-2016 and The Times from 1785-2019.
To access The Telegraph, follow the link here, or click the image above.
To access The Times, follow the link here, or click the image above.
Historical newspapers are a very important primary source of information for history students.
They provide historical context to events and, often, first-hand accounts of how things happened from the perspective of journalist/reporter.
They offer a wealth of material for your research and can add real interpretive value to the assessed work that you must complete.
The library provides you with many different sources of historical newspapers that you can discover here and easily access digitally.
