Books For Keeps is the UK’s leading, independent children’s book magazine. It was launched in 1980 and ever since has been reviewing hundreds of new children’s books each year and publishing articles on every aspect of writing for children. There are over 12,500 reviews on the website and more than 2,000 articles including interviews with the top children’s authors and illustrators.
Book Events for Children provides information about book related events for children across the county. Events listed range from creative writing workshops to author visits and theatre productions
Booktrust: Children's Books Independent educational charity promoting books and reading
British Library: discovering children's books - a free online resource for children, teachers and book-lovers of all ages. There’s a gallery of activities to spark children’s creativity and inspire their own stories, poems, illustrations and more and the site also includes films showing illustrators at work in their studios
Children's Book Sequels Answers the question - what book comes next? Searchable by series or title
Children's Poetry Archive - a place where you can listen to poems read out loud. We have poems read by the poets who wrote them as well as poems which other people have recorded for us. We think everyone has a favourite poem, it’s just that they haven’t heard it out loud yet. We hope you find your favourite here.
Empathy Lab - is the first organisation to build children's empathy, literacy and social activism through a systematic use of high-quality literature. Our strategy builds on new scientific evidence showing the power of reading to build real-life empathy skills.
Federation of Children's Book Groups The Federation's role is to act as an umbrella organisation for local book groups
Letterbox Library A leading supplier of multicultural, non-sexist and special issue books for children. Celebrating equality and diversity for over 25 years
Seven Stories: the National Centre for Children's Books Seven Stories is the only place in the UK dedicated to the art of children’s books, and one of just a few such places in the world. Its mission is to champion children’s books as an essential part of childhood, our national heritage and our culture and to inspire a love of reading across generations.
The Story Museum - based in Oxford their vision is "to enrich lives, especially young lives, through stories. Our mission is to achieve this by collecting great stories and sharing them in great ways at our most unusual Museum"
DFE (Department of Education) The Department for Education is responsible for children’s services and education, including early years, schools, higher and further education policy, apprenticeships and wider skills in England.
DFE (Department of Education) Data, Research and Statistics This section pulls together new and current research and evaluation projects, research centres, publications and data from a range of sites. Other statistics may be found on Gov.UK site
Department of Health & Social Care Latest on the Department's work, health and social care guidance, publications and policy
GOV.UK Publications Publications from all government departments. You can refine your search by specific department, topic, date etc. Most publications that were published before May 2010 (or before April 2008 in the case of research reports) have now been transferred to The National Archives
National Curriculum for curriculum for England to be taught in all maintained primary and secondary schools from September 2014.
OFSTED Introduction to the work of Ofsted and fulltext database of inspection results
Association for Science Education (ASE) The Association for Science Education (ASE) is the largest subject association in the UK. The professional body for all those involved in science education from pre-school to higher education.
British Education Studies Association The British Education Studies Association (BESA) was established to support research in the field of Education Studies. It was formed in July 2005 as a subject association for all students, teachers and researchers in Education Studies within the UK
British Dyslexia Association The vision of the British Dyslexia Association is a dyslexia friendly society enabling all dyslexic people to reach their potential.
British Educational Research Association (BERA) Aim of the association is to sustain and promote educational research.
Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE) An independent UK charity which promotes high standards in the teaching of literacy and emphasises the importance of books and literature in enabling children to become confident, happy and enthusiastic readers and writers, with all the benefits this brings.
Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education The Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education (CSIE) is an independent centre, set up in 1982, actively supporting inclusive education as a human right of every child.
Chartered College of Teaching The Chartered College of Teaching is a professional body for teachers, working to celebrate, support & connect teachers to take pride in their profession & provide the best possible education for children & young people.
Education Endowment Foundation The Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) is an independent charity dedicated to breaking the link between family income and educational achievement.
Equality and Human Rights Commission Body with a statutory remit to promote and monitor human rights; and to protect, enforce and promote equality across the nine "protected" grounds - age, disability, gender, race, religion and belief, pregnancy and maternity, marriage and civil partnership, sexual orientation and gender reassignment.
Geographical Association GA aims to further the teaching of geography and communicate the value of geography for all
NASUWT: the Teachers' Union works to enhance the status of the teaching profession to deliver real improvements to teachers’ working lives, seeking to ensure they are recognised and rewarded as highly skilled professionals with working conditions that enable them to focus on their core role of teaching.
National Association for Special Educational Needs (NASEN) Nasen is the leading organisation in the UK which aims to promote the education, training, advancement and development of all those with special and additional support needs
National Association for the Teaching of English (NATE) Professional subject association for english
National Autistic Society Leading UK charity for people with autism and aspergers
National Education Union The Union recruits only qualified teachers and those training to be qualified teachers into membership
National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER) Independent body undertaking research and development across the sector
National Literacy Trust Body dedicated to building a "literate nation"
Reading for Pleasure Joint project between OU and UKLA examining children's and teachers reading lives and establishing effective ways to support reading for pleasure
The Reading Agency "Our vision is for a world where everyone is reading their way to a better life"
Talking Point Communication is a vital skill that all children need to learn. Without it they will not reach their full potential. Talking Point gives parents and professionals the information they need to help children develop these skills.Includes lots of free resources
United Kingdom Literacy Association (UKLA) working to improve literacy through effecting policy change underpinned by research
BBC Education & Family News BBC website for latest education issues and news
Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency provides information & comparative analysis on systems and policies in education and youth within the EU and beyond
Education Guardian Coverage of education issues in Guardian newspaper
EIPPEE (Evidence Informed Policy & Practice in Education In Europe) The EIPPEE Network is made up of organisations and individuals working together in groups on specific aspects of the use of evidence based practice within education
Eurydice: Information Network on Education in Europe Information on education systems of European countries
Times Educational Supplement Links to TES- jobs, resources and lots more
UNESCO Education The Organization is committed to a holistic and humanistic vision of quality education worldwide, the realization of everyone’s right to education, and the belief that education plays a fundamental role in human, social and economic development.
Centre for Post-14 Education and Work Part of UCL Institute of Education, the Centre aims to research current and future-oriented perspectives on post-14 education and its role within society.
Education and Skills Funding Agency .The ESFA brings together the former responsibilities of the Education Funding Agency (EFA) and Skills Funding Agency (SFA) to create a single agency accountable for funding education and skills for children, young people and adults.
Excellence Gateway Education and Training Foundation website aiming to enhance the professionalism of the education and training sector.
The Education & Training Foundation The Education and Training Foundation is all about excellence in teaching and learning.It aims
Learning & Work Institute A new independent policy and research organisation dedicated to lifelong learning, full employment and inclusion. We bring together over 90 years of combined history and heritage from the ‘National Institute of Adult Continuing Education’ and the ‘Centre for Economic & Social Inclusion’.
National Research and Development Centre NRDC was a national independent centre for adult literacy, numeracy and ESOL. The Centre closed in December 2015 but NRDC’s publications will continue to be accessible through the website for the foreseeable future
The Wolf Report 2011 Review of Vocational Education by Lord Wolf
British Library : Learning website offers an exciting programme of workshops, activities and resources for schools, teachers and learners of all ages. Explore fascinating topics online or plan a visit
Teachers TV provides access to instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.
Primary Resources Lesson plans, activity ideas and teaching resources for primary teachers
Smithsonian Image Database - you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images and most are copyright free
Teaching Ideas and Resources Lesson ideas and free resources
Topmarks Free resources and links
Always be careful when citing material found on the Internet - be sure you are using a reputable source and all information or data mentioned is referenced or acknowledged. Websites ending in .gov.uk are official government sites, .ac.uk are official college/university sites - but anyone can use .co.uk, .com or .org.
