ABC Data Hub - providing data analysis and industry reports for newspapers and magazines. We offer free access to ABC historical data and reports (back to year 2000) to students and tutors of UK educational establishments with a verified academic email address.
Aljazeera - News website
Article 19 - reporting on freedom of expression, and campaign to safeguard pluralism, independence and diversity of views in the media.
Associated Press - an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.
BBC Academy - Access to the BBC’s in-house journalism training resources.
BBC News - keep up to date with latest events
Chronicle World weblog - The Chronicle World’s Weblog "is the UK’s leading independent online news magazine on Black Britain politics, history, culture."
First Draft - , providing practical and ethical guidance in how to find, verify and publish content sourced from the social web. An international Partner Network of newsrooms, universities, platforms and civil society organizations.
Guardian - latest online news from The Guardian
HoldtheFrontPage - news, jobs, courses & resources for UK journalists
Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture - representations from variety of media
Journalism.co.uk - News website for journalists, reporting on latest industry issues, also includes job alerts, newsletter and podcast.
Journo resources - "A tiny non-profit working to make the media better"
Magculture - A design studio, website and journal relating to magazine culture, design and editing. "everything we do celebrates magazines while questioning what their future might be"
Media UK - Media contacts, news and analysis for the UK, Australia, Ireland, Gibraltar and the world.
New Yorker Magazine - website of influential New York magazine
Online Journalism Blog - publishes comment, analysis and links covering online journalism and online news, data journalism, citizen journalism, blogging, vlogging, photoblogging, podcasts, vodcasts, interactive storytelling, publishing, Computer Assisted Reporting, User Generated Content, searching and all things internet.
Open Library of Humanities - Free resource of journals and books in the humanities.
Poynter Institute - Teaches and provides resources for those who manage, edit, produce, program, report, write, blog, photograph and design.
Press Gazette - "upholds the highest standards of ethical and professional journalism. In our editorial coverage we seek to be independent, fair and accurate."
Reuters News - news website
Sky News - news website
Writers and Artists - Provides industry advice for writers and artists.
Department for Digital, Culture Media and Sport - "We protect and promote our cultural and artistic heritage and help businesses and communities to grow by investing in innovation and highlighting Britain as a fantastic place to visit"
European Journalism Centre - Since 1992, the European Journalism Centre has been building a sustainable, ethical and innovative future for journalism through grants, events, training and media development.
Independent Press Standards Organisation - the independent regulator of most of the UK’s newspapers and magazines.
International Federation of Journalists - the world's largest organisation of journalists, represents 600,000 media professionals from 187 trade unions and associations in more than 140 countries
National Union of Journalists - the voice for journalists and journalism. - an inclusive union which represents a broad range of media profession
News Media Association -campaigns to safeguard press freedom and promote freedom of expression
Women in Journalism - a not for profit organisation that provides guidance and support for members from diverse social and ethnic backgrounds, at every stage of their careers, and work across all platforms around the UK and overseas
World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers - Global organisation of the world’s press.
Youth Journalism International - connects student writers, artists and photographers with peers around the globe, teaches journalism, fosters cross-cultural understanding, and promotes and defends a free youth press.
This American Life - Popular podcast which reports weekly on a theme and a variety of stories on that theme. It's mostly true stories of everyday people, though not always.
Getty Images - Getty Images Archive, which at 80 million photographs and growing, is the world’s largest commercial collection.
Independent Local Radio Sharing Archive - An archive of local radio programmes 1983-1990. The collection shares drama, documentaries, features and current affairs between Independent Local Radio stations.
Journalism.co.uk podcast - Weekly podcast of stories and features related to journalism.
New Yorker Podcasts - politics and more
Pixabay - Over 1.4 million royalty free stock photos and videos.
Smithsonian Image database - you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s image and most are copyright free
Always be careful when citing material found on the Internet - be sure you are using a reputable source and all information or data mentioned is referenced or acknowledged. Websites ending in .gov.uk are official government sites, .ac.uk are official college/university sites - but anyone can use .co.uk, .com or .org.
