LibGuides: Design: useful websites: Welcome

Design: useful websites

British Fashion Council
Chartered Society of Designers
The Chartered Society of Designers (CSD) is the professional body for designers and the authority on professional design practice.
Design Council
The Textile Institute
The Textile Society

Dexigner
Leading online portal for designers providing a design directory, newsletter, information on events and competitions in the design field.
European Textile Network
News, links and exhibition information from the textiles trade
London Fashion Week
We wear culture:
A collaboration between Google and more than 180 museums, fashion institutions, and other organizations. It’s part of Google’s Arts & Culture platform. An archive of some 30,000 fashion pieces that puts “three millennia of fashion at your fingertips,” including more than 450 exhibits on different topics.

Design Museum
Online archive of modern and contemporary design.
MoDA: Museum of Domestic Design and Architecture
Museum site with information on a collection of 19th and 20th century decorative arts
Vitra Design Museum

A-N
News, job opportunities and support for contemporary visual arts practice.
Access Art
Charity promoting Visual Arts education.
Association of Illustrators
Includes a link to the World Illustration Awards
Booktrust
Booktrust is a British reading and writing charity promoting and supporting children's literacy.
The Campaign for Drawing
An independent charity promoting drawing. Organisers of the annual Big Draw event.
Chartered Society of Designers
The Chartered Society of Designers (CSD) is the professional body for designers and the authority on professional design practice.
Children's Illustrators.com
Online directory of illustrators of children's books. Also includes details of animators working in this field.
D&AD (Design and Art Direction)
Professional UK design association which runs the annual D&AD Awards for graphics and advertising.
Onedotzero
Organisation promoting Digital film making.

British Cartoon Archive
Archive of British cartoons over the last 200 years
British Library: Children's literature pages.
Links to material on the history of children's book illustration held by the British Library.
Design Museum
Online archive of modern and contemporary design.
The Drawing Room
Non-profit gallery in the UK dedicated to international contemporary drawing.
History Of Advertising Trust
Internet Archive: Moving Image Collection
more...less...
This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Museum of Brands
more...less...
Information about the Museum of Brands in London.
Seven Stories: Centre for Children's Books
Award winning centre in Newcastle dedicated to children's books.

Adweek
Adweek is the leading American source of news for marketing, media and advertising professionals.
Bonefolder
An Open Access journal and website for book artists.
Dexigner
Leading online portal for designers providing a design directory, newsletter, information on events and competitions in the design field.
Digital Arts
News, reviews and feature articles from the creators of Digital Arts Magazine.
Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design
Online index of Eye magazine plus access to the Eye Blog.
It's Nice That
more...less...
Website that champions creativity across the art and design world

Chartered Society of Designers
The Chartered Society of Designers (CSD) is the professional body for designers and the authority on professional design practice.
The Design Council
Design Insite: the Designer's guide to manufacturing.
more...less...
Design inSite is the Designer's guide to manufacturing. Various manufacturing processes and materials are described as well as the products where they are used. The purpose of Design inSite is to inspire designers in their designwork to consider materials and processes which are new or unknown to them
The Design Trust
The Engineering Council The Engineering Council is the UK regulatory body for the engineering profession. We hold the national registers of 222,000 Engineering Technicians (EngTech), Incorporated Engineers (IEng), Chartered Engineers (CEng) and Information and Communications Technology Technicians (ICTTech).
IED: Institution of Engineering Designers (UK)
more...less...
Established in 1945, Incorporated by Royal Charter in 2012, the Institution of Engineering Designers is the only organisation in the UK to represent those working in the many fields of engineering (and product) design.
IET: Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK)
Institution of Mechanical Engineers

Design Museum
Online archive of modern and contemporary design.
IDE Virtual Design Museum
Famous designer archives.
MoDA: Museum of Domestic Design and Architecture
more...less...
The Museum of Domestic Design & Architecture (MoDA) houses comprehensive collections of nineteenth and twentieth century decorative arts for the home.
MOSI: Museum of Science and Industry
more...less...
Based in Manchester, MOSI explores how science, innovation and industry created and sustain modern society.
V & A Museum
Vitra Design Museum

Design World
It's Nice That
more...less...
Website that champions creativity across the art and design world

Biothinking
more...less...
Edwin Datschefksi's website, offering guidance on designing sustainable products.
Designer Daily
more...less...
Blog covering all aspects of design.
Eames Offoce: Blog