Skip to Main Content
Toggle navigation
Library
Menu
Library Home
About
Opening Hours
External Visitors
Contact us
Service Statements
Takedown Notice
How we buy our eBooks
Find
Inter Library Loans
Books For You
Scan and Deliver
Reservation Service
Library Search
Databases A-Z
Browse Journals
Resource Lists
Lean Library
LibKey Nomad
Support
Getting Started
Subject Guides
Develop@Derby
Research Guides
eResources Support
IT Support
Disability Support
Accessibility Statements
Develop@Derby
Develop@Derby Home
Preparing for Study
Critical Thinking
Types of Assessment
Referencing
Writing at University
Digital Skills
Maths and Numeracy
Academic Wellbeing
Your Future, Start Now
LinkedIn Learning
Develop@Derby Skill Set
My Library Account
Library
LibGuides
Art and Media: useful websites
Welcome
Search this Guide
Search
Art and Media: useful websites
Welcome
Art and Media LibGuide Home
Art and Media: useful websites
Fine Art: useful websites
Museums and Galleries
Professional organisations
Free images
Critical theory
Andy Warhol Museum
The Baltic
Site of the major international centre for comtemporary art on the river Tyne
Derby Museums
Henry Moore Foundation
Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York)
more...
less...
Over 400,000 images have been made freely available to download. Just look for the OASC logo beneath the image before downloading.
National Gallery
Quad, Derby
Tate Gallery
Victoria and Albert Museum
Yorkshire Sculpture Park
Arts Council England
Arts Council of Wales
Creative Scotland
Visual Artists Association
Open Culture
Links to free art images from museums and galleries. Download hundreds of free art books from the Guggenheim Museum, the Getty and the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Smithsonian Institution
A wide range of Open Access materials
Art and Critical theory
Link to Libguide from a US university. Helpful hints on building up keywords for searching.
Photography: useful websites
Professional organisations
Museums and Galleries
Archives
Arts Council England
Association of Photographers
Autograph: Association of Black Photographers
Quad, Derby
Royal Photographic society
Photofusion
London's largest independent photography resource centre
The Photographers' Gallery
Photography Now
International online portal for photography and video art.
Science and Media Museum
Smithsonian Institution
A wide range of Open Access materials
Victoria and Albert Museum: photography pages
The Correspondence of William Henry Fox Talbot
De Montfort University's comprehensive edition of the nearly 10,000 letters to and from Talbot
Lee Miller archive
The William Henry Fox Talbot catalogue raisonne
The Bodleian Library's digitisation of the complete works of the Victorian inventor of photography.
Media, Film, and Television: useful websites
Professional organisations
Websites
Museums and archives
Arts Council England
BFI: British Film Institute
BUFVC (British Universities Film and Video Council)
Promotes the production, study and use of moving image, sound and related media in the UK
European Audiovisual Observatory
Council of Europe organisation that distributes information about the audiovisual industries in Europe.
Independent Cinema Office
Organisation supporting independent film exhibition in the UK
Lux
Organisation that promotes and supports artists' moving image work
BFI Inview
Over 2000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th century to the early 21st.
Encounters - short film and video festival
The Knowledge Online
Source of contacts in the TV, film and commercials production industries
Onedotzero
Organisation promoting Digital film making.
Quad, Derby
Shooting People
Organisation for independent film makers
BBC Archives
Internet Archive: Moving Image Collection
A free to use archive of historical moving image resources uploaded by Archive memebers
National Media Museum
Museum and cinema complex in Bradford - film, TV, photography
