The E-Journals Finder is different from Library Plus (and any other database) in a couple of ways.
Firstly, unlike a database, you cannot search the A-Z list for article titles, or topics--like mental health--you can only search for journal titles or keywords that you know (or hope) are in the titles of journals.
Secondly, the E-Journals Finder lists all of the journals we have full-text access to. These may be journals we subscribe to; journals we get as part of a bigger, subject specific 'bundle' (i.e. health & social care journals); or they may be journals we have free access to. All are listed in the A-Z.
All journals will be listed in the A-Z by title or subject of journal. Individual databases will search a variety of these journals but not every single one - not even Library Plus.
So, when would you use the A-Z list?
You would search the A-Z if you had a complete article reference and you wanted to (a) know if we had full-text, electronic access to the journal the article's in and (b) to quickly access the full-text if it's available.
The A-Z is essentially good when you know exactly what you want and what journal you can find it in.
See the example below. (Remember!! You can only look for the journal title; not keywords in the article title)
This will search our collection of electronic journals for all titles which include your search terms, and give you information about which database the journal is hosted on. You may find that some journals are hosted on multiple databases, often with different years of coverage.
Click on the 'Full Text Access' link to see which databases this journal is hosted on and the years of coverage. You can click on these links to go to that database page - you will then need to navigate to the year, and then volume and issue number for the article in question. Some journals may have a 'search within publication' box, where you can search just that journal without having to go directly to the database page.
NOTE: Many of the databases have different search mechanisms and interfaces, so one may work differently to another. You will become familiar with these the more you use them. If you get stuck or confused at any point, get in touch with your academic librarian.
