Google Scholar, a specialised search engine designed for academic research, is an invaluable resource for business students and those interested in business-related fields like marketing, management, finance, and entrepreneurship. By indexing scholarly literature across various disciplines, including business, economics, sociology, and psychology, Google Scholar allows you to discover relevant research articles, case studies, industry reports, market analyses, and other scholarly materials.
How Google Scholar Enhances Research in Business and Related Fields:
- Interdisciplinary Exploration: Google Scholar's broad scope enables you to explore business research from an interdisciplinary perspective, uncovering connections with fields like psychology, sociology, economics, and technology. This can enrich your understanding of complex business phenomena and spark new research ideas.
- Discovering Diverse Perspectives: Google Scholar can lead you to a wide range of theoretical frameworks, case studies, and industry reports from various sources, exposing you to diverse voices and debates within the business world. This can help you develop a more nuanced understanding of business challenges and opportunities.
- Uncovering Market Trends and Innovations: Google Scholar can surface cutting-edge research, case studies, and reports on emerging market trends, business innovations, and technological advancements. This can help you stay ahead of the curve and identify potential areas for your own research or career development.
- Accessing Company and Industry Reports: Google Scholar can help you locate annual reports, financial statements, and other company documents, as well as industry reports and analyses from reputable sources. This data can be invaluable for conducting your own research and analysis.
Important Considerations When Using Google Scholar:
- Pre-print Versions: Be aware that some versions of papers found on Google Scholar may be pre-prints, which are early versions of articles that have not yet undergone peer review. Always verify that you are accessing the final, published version of an article for the most accurate and reliable information.
- Paywalls: Some articles found on Google Scholar may be behind paywalls, meaning you may need to pay a fee or have a subscription to access the full text. This is where Lean Library comes in handy!
Lean Library: Your Gateway to Full-Text Access
To enhance your Google Scholar experience and overcome paywall barriers, the library provides Lean Library, a browser extension that seamlessly integrates with Google Scholar. It indicates whether the University of Derby provides access to the full text of the articles you find, and if so, provides a direct link to access the article through the library's subscriptions. This streamlines your research process and ensures you can access the business resources you need without incurring additional costs.
Comparing Google Scholar and Library Search:
While both Google Scholar and Library Search offer access to scholarly literature, they have distinct advantages for business students:
- Library Search: Provides a curated collection of resources specifically tailored to the needs of business students and researchers. It includes specialised databases like ProQuest OneBusiness and Gale Business Insights, which offer a wealth of company information, market research reports, and academic articles on business topics.
- Google Scholar: Offers a broader scope, potentially uncovering lesser-known or interdisciplinary sources. When combined with Lean Library, it provides a streamlined way to access full-text articles available through the university.
Optimising Your Research Strategy:
For the most effective research in business and related fields, it's recommended to use both Google Scholar (with Lean Library) and Library Search, along with specialised databases like Mintel and Marketline. This multifaceted approach ensures you have access to the widest possible range of resources, combining the strengths of each platform to uncover the most relevant and informative sources for your research and studies.
