Derby City Local Studies and Family History Library holds an extensive collection of local material and is more comprehensive than our Local Collection. If you are conducting any research on the Local Area, you should consider visiting as well as using the University resources
Derbyshire Record Office provides the archives and local studies services for the county, bringing Derbyshire's fascinating past to life for residents, visitors and students.
Chesterfield Local Studies Library collection reflects North East Derbyshire's rich history in the wide range of materials available
The University has access to Digimap an online map and data service which offers a number of data collections, including Ordnance Survey, historical, geological and spatial data.
Maps in the Local Collection include:
Historical Ordnance Survey Maps. 6 Inch County Series Derbyshire
Cassini 1 inch historical maps reprints 912 ORD
A far more extensive collection of local maps is in the Environmental Sciences Map Library (T block).
Bibliographies and map lists include:
Nichols, Harold (1980) Local maps of Derbyshire to 1770: an inventory and introduction. Matlock: Derbyshire Library Service
Handford, Charles C. (1971) Some maps of the county of Derby 1577-1850. (Derbyshire Miscellany Supplement no. 11 1971)
Image from Wikimedia Commons used under CC licence
The Local Collection has a number of boxes which contain short pamphlets, reprints and other miscellaneous items, mainly up to the 1980s and shelved after the book collection.
These are labelled by subject and include: Agriculture, Archaeology, Architecture/Landscape Design, Carsington Reservoir, Catalogues & Bibliographies, Cencus & Population, Churces/Chapels, Derby:General, Derbyshire:General, Derby Redevelopment, Education(History), Environment & Conservation, Geography, Geology, History, Industry (including Rolls Royce, Textiles, Toyota)., Lead Mining, Mining, Nature, Peak National Park, Quarry Restoration, Sand, Gravel & Aggregates, Towns, Transport, University, Water.
N.B. The University Archives are held at the Derbyshire Record Office in Matlock.
Bibliographies which are now a little dated, but can still be useful for research These include:
Bibliography of the Geology of the Peak District of Derbyshire: The Mercian Geologist contains 2 bibliographies of books and journal articles up to 1972 on the Geology of the Peak District of Derbyshire. Ford, T.D. & Mason, M.H. (1967) Bibliography of the geology of the Peak District of Derbyshire (to 1965) Mercian Geologist 2 (2) pp.133-244 and Ford, T.D. (1972) Supplement to the Bibliography of the Geology of the Peak District of Derbyshire, Mercian Geologist 4 (2) pp.109-137.
Bibliography of the geology of Leicestershire, up to 1970 by T.D.Ford, R.J.King & G.J. Snowball is published in the Mercian Geologist vol. 4 no.4 Dec1973
East Midlands Bibliography 1970-1986 (previously North Midland Bibliography 1963-1969).
Derbyshire County Library (1971) Derbyshire: books and other materials available in the County Library. Derbyshire County Library.
Gould, R (1979) Canals in Derbyshire: a bibliography . Derbyshire Library Service. Local Collection 386.4/GOU
O'Neal, RAH (1960) Derbyshire lead and lead mining: a bibiography. 2nd ed. Derbyshire County Library.
Derbyshire's architectural heritage: a bibliographical guide (1983) 2nd ed. Derbyshire County Council.
Hope,A (1967) Joseph Wright of Derby: a bibliography. Derby Borough Libraries.
The Nottinghamshire Bibliography Online (Thoroton Society) "The first comprehensive bibliography of Nottinghamshire history was compiled by Michael Brook and published by the Thoroton Society in 2002. Brook’s bibliography includes 8707 items relating to “books (and discrete portions of books), pamphlets, periodical articles, and academic theses at doctoral and master’s levels” published before 1998.
