Why might I need this database?
Produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library, AMED is a specialized bibliographic database designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
How do I access AMED?
You can access it from the Databases list on the Library homepage. Just search under 'A', and you will find it. Alternatively, you can follow the highlighted link here.
How does it relate to Library Search?
Library Search does not integrate AMED's content. This means that you will miss AMED if you rely on Library Search alone.
Why might I need this database?
CINAHL Ultimate provides indexing for 4,500 journals and full text for more than 2,100 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with full text dating back to 1937. CINAHL Ultimate also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Full text material is included alongside legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
How do I access Cinahl Ultimate?
You can access it from the Databases list on the Library homepage. Just search under 'C', and you will find it. Alternatively, you can follow the highlighted link here.
How does it relate to Library Search?
Cinahl Ultimate does provide its content to Library Search. This means that if you search Library Search, then you should 'theoretically' be searching Cinahl Ultimate. But, I would advise searching Cinahl Ultimate separately, too, as you will have greater control of the search functionality. The key message, though, is make sure you're thinking about Cinahl Ultimate when doing research.
Why might I need this database?
Medline is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health.
How do I access Medline?
You can access it from the Databases list on the Library homepage. Just search under 'M', and you will find it. Alternatively, you can follow the highlighted link here.
How does it relate to Library Search?
Library Search does not integrate Medline's content. This means that you will miss Medline if you rely on Library Search alone.
Why might I need this database?
PubMed is the freely available access route to the Medline database. PubMed, therefore, is larger than Medline, and it contains access to an open-access database called PubMed Central—as well as several other databases and useful resources. Searching Medline through a service like EBSCO will give more control to your Medline search, but PubMed's version of Medline will be slightly more up to date. It is advisable, then, to search both Medline and PubMed when undertaking a systematic literature search.
How do I access PubMed?
How does it relate to Library Search?
Library Search does not integrate PubMed's content. This means that you will miss PubMed if you rely on Library Search alone.
Why might I need this database?
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health.
How do I access PsycINFO?
You can access it from the Databases list on the Library homepage. Just search under 'P', and you will find it. Alternatively, you can follow the highlighted link here.
How does it relate to Library Search?
Library Search does not integrate PsycINFO's content. This means that you will miss PsycINFO if you rely on Library Search alone.
