Skip to Main Content

Research Methods

Research Planning and Organisation

A comprehensive literature review is the foundation of any research project, providing the base upon which your own research will be built. It involves a systematic and rigorous process of identifying, evaluating, and synthesising existing research relevant to your topic. The literature review serves to:

  • Establish the context for your research: By situating your project within the existing body of knowledge, you demonstrate your understanding of the field and identify the specific gap or problem that your research aims to address.
  • Identify key concepts, theories, and debates: Familiarise yourself with the central ideas, theoretical frameworks, and ongoing debates within your field. This allows you to engage with the scholarly conversation and contribute meaningfully to it.
  • Evaluate existing methodologies and approaches: Critically assess the strengths and limitations of previous studies to inform your own research design and methodology.
  • Uncover gaps in knowledge and unanswered questions: Identify areas where further research is needed, thus highlighting the potential value of your own project.
  • Develop a theoretical framework: By synthesising existing research, you can build a conceptual framework that guides your research questions and hypotheses.

Types of Literature Reviews

There are different types of literature reviews, each with a distinct purpose and methodology:

  • Narrative literature reviews: Provide a broad overview of a topic, summarising and synthesising relevant research in a narrative format.
  • Systematic reviews: Follow a rigorous and transparent methodology to identify, appraise, and synthesise all relevant research on a specific question. Systematic reviews aim to minimise bias and provide a comprehensive overview of the evidence.
  • Scoping reviews: Aim to map the existing literature on a topic, identifying key concepts, theories, and research gaps. Scoping reviews are often used to inform the development of more focused systematic reviews.
  • Meta-analyses: A statistical technique used to combine the results of multiple quantitative studies on a particular topic to provide a more precise estimate of the overall effect.

For a more comprehensive understanding of literature reviews and systematic reviews, we encourage you to consult our library's dedicated guides:

These guides provide detailed information on conducting literature searches, screening results, evaluating sources, synthesising findings, and organising records.

A research proposal is a detailed plan that outlines the scope, objectives, methodology, and expected outcomes of your research. It serves as a roadmap for your project and a communication tool for your supervisor, funding agencies, or ethics committees. While specific requirements may vary depending on your field of study, most research proposals include the following key elements:

  • Title: A concise and informative title that accurately reflects the scope and focus of your research.
  • Introduction: A brief overview of the research topic, its significance, and the problem or question your research aims to address.
  • Literature review: An overview of existing research that serves to demonstrate your awareness of prior literature and identify gaps in knowledge that your project will address.
  • Research question(s) and objectives: Clearly articulates the specific questions your research aims to answer and the goals you hope to achieve. The research question(s) should be focused, achievable (for your level and time), and relevant to the field.
  • Methodology: Describes the research design, data collection methods, sampling procedures, and data analysis techniques you will employ. Justify your choices and explain how they will enable you to answer your research questions effectively.
  • Ethical considerations: Outlines the steps you will take to ensure the ethical conduct of your research, including obtaining informed consent, protecting participant confidentiality, and minimising any potential risks or harms to participants.
  • Timeline: Provides a realistic schedule outlining the major milestones and deadlines for your project.
  • Expected outcomes and significance: Discusses the potential contributions of your research to the field and its broader implications.
  • Budget (if applicable): If you are seeking funding for your research, provide a detailed budget outlining the anticipated costs of your project, including equipment, travel, and other expenses.
  • References: List all sources cited in your proposal using the appropriate referencing style for your discipline.

Tips for Writing a Strong Research Proposal

  • Start early and revise often: The research proposal is a living document that will evolve as your project progresses. Start drafting your proposal early in the planning process and revise it regularly as you refine your research question, methodology, and expected outcomes.
  • Seek feedback from your supervisor: Share your proposal with your supervisor to get feedback on its clarity, coherence, and feasibility.
  • Be clear, concise, and persuasive: Write in a clear and concise style, avoiding jargon and technical terms that may not be familiar to your audience. Use persuasive language to highlight the significance and potential impact of your research.
  • Follow the guidelines: Adhere to the specific formatting and submission guidelines provided by your programme, department (or funding agency, if applicable).

A well-structured timeline is a vital tool for navigating the complexities of advanced research. It provides a visual roadmap of your project, outlining key milestones, deadlines, and the sequence of tasks required to achieve your research goals. A detailed timeline helps you stay organised, allocate your time effectively, and anticipate potential challenges.

Benefits of a Research Timeline:

  • Enhanced focus and productivity: By breaking down your project into smaller, manageable tasks with specific deadlines, you avoid feeling overwhelmed and maintain a steady pace of progress.
  • Improved time management: A timeline helps you prioritise tasks, allocate resources efficiently, and avoid last-minute rushes.
  • Early identification of potential bottlenecks: By mapping out the connections between tasks, you can identify potential bottlenecks or delays early on and take corrective action.
  • Effective communication: A timeline serves as a communication tool, allowing you to keep your supervisor, collaborators, or funding agencies informed of your progress and anticipated completion date.
  • Monitoring and evaluating progress: By regularly reviewing your timeline, you can track your progress, identify areas where you may be falling behind, and adjust your plan accordingly.

Developing Your Research Timeline

Creating a timeline involves identifying the key stages and tasks involved in your research project, estimating the time required for each task, and ordering the tasks in a logical order. Consider the following steps:

  1. Identify key milestones: Start by identifying the major milestones of your project, such as the completion of your literature review, data collection, analysis, and writing.
  2. Break down tasks: Divide each milestone into smaller, more manageable tasks. For example, the literature review milestone might include tasks like searching databases, reading and summarising articles, and synthesising findings.
  3. Estimate timeframes: Assign realistic timeframes to each task, considering the complexity of the task, your available resources, and any potential challenges or delays. Build in a little cushioning time, in case of unexpected challenges or delays.
  4. Order tasks: Arrange the tasks in a logical order, considering the connections between them. For instance, you cannot start analysing data until you have completed data collection!
  5. Review and revise: Regularly review and revise your timeline as your project progresses. Adjust your timeline as needed to accommodate the unexpected.

Example Timeline for a 6-Month Master's Thesis:

Here's a sample timeline for a 6-month master's thesis, providing a suggested breakdown of key milestones and approximate timeframes:

 Milestone  Tasks  Timeframe (Weeks)
  Literature Review   Search and identify relevant literature   1-4
    Read and summarise articles   5-8
 

  Synthesise findings and identify research gaps

   9-12
  Research Proposal   Develop research questions and objectives   13-14
    Design research methodology and data collection plan   15-16
    Obtain ethical approval (if applicable)   16
  Data Collection   Recruit participants   17-18
    Conduct interviews, surveys, or experiments   19-20
  Data Analysis   Transcribe and code qualitative data   21-22
    Analyse quantitative data using statistical software   22-23
  Writing and Revisions       Draft chapters of the thesis   23-25
    Revise and refine based on feedback from supervisor   25-26
  Submission   Submit final thesis   26

 

Remember, this is just an example, and your timeline may vary depending on the specifics of your project. The key is to create a plan that works for you and helps you stay on track to achieve your research goals.