This section is an introduction to finding resources so it won't go into a lot of detail but it covers the essentials of what you need to get started with searching for information. The links in the left-hand navigation bar will direct you to the most common types of resources you may need during your studies.
Finding Books and eBooks will give you guidance on using Library Search and our eBook databases to find print books in the library and online eBooks. It will also provide information about the different eBook platforms and some of the additional functionality available with eBooks, like searching within the book, adding notes, highlighting text, read-aloud options and printing/downloading.
Finding Articles will give you information on how to use Library Search, our main journal article search engine. Library Search is not a database itself - it is a search engine that searches around 50-60 different databases in one go, bringing all the results back within one list. It is the best place to start searching for journal articles. It's worth noting that one of the major databases for Built Environment, (Construction Information Service) is NOT searched by Library Search. You should search the CIS site itself by following the links to it from Key Subject Resources or from the Databases A-Z.
There may be times when you need to use images, video or audio in your work. It is important you abide by copyright law when using this kind of material, so we recommend looking at the databases the library provides first, as these are all licensed and legal to use. You can find details of all of these resources in the Finding Images and Video guide.