Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Access to this resource has been provided free of charge by the suppliers/publishers during the Covid-19 period. It is extra to our Library subscriptions

Subjects: MANY

Description: Academic Video Online is a comprehensive collection of over 66,000 videos, including documentaries, films and demonstrations, covering all major subject areas.

Contents: Streaming Video

Access: UDo/Ezproxy
Trial
Subjects: History; Middle Eastern Studies

Description: This resource enables easy exploration of the holdings of the Arcadian Library, revealing the shared cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East across the course of a millennium. Images are displayed in high resolution, full colour and include bindings, clasps and page edges.

Contents: Primary Sources

Access: UDo/EZproxy
New
Subjects: MANY

Description: This collection offers a wide range of books to support the development of study skills - whatever the discipline, level or need. Topics covered include essay writing, critical thinking and research skills.

The publisher has temporarily expanded our access to include e-books on wellbeing during the Covid-19 period.

Contents: E-books

Access: UDo/Shibboleth
Trial
Subjects: Arts; Design; Fashion; Textiles;

Description: A collection of over 170 e-books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

Contents: E-books

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Arts; Architecture; Design

Description: A collection of fully-searchable text and image content for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design.

Contents: E-books; Images

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: History; Sociology; Cultural Studies

Description: A fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity and covers subjects including history, cultural studies, sociology and anthropology.

Contents: E-books; Images

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Arts; Design

Description: The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.

Contents: E-books; Images

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: Access to thousands of critical biographical entries on individuals who have contributed to the history of thought and philosophy covering a broad range of traditions, subjects, schools of thought, and regions.

Contents: Biographies

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Arts; Design; Fashion; Textiles

Description: A collection of peer-reviewed content including text, images, photos, video, case studies, and teaching resources covering fashion and dress.

Contents: Popular (non-scholarly) Articles – Scholarly (peer reviewed) Articles; E-books; Images; Videos; Biographies

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Arts; Design; Fashion; Textiles

Description: This resource contains nearly 3,000 fashion videos from the YOOX-NET-A-PORTER Runway Archive Collections from 1979 to 2003

Contents: Streaming Video

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: A wide-ranging collection of food studies content for students, researchers, and scholars studying food, on courses including history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.

Contents: E-books; Images

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: History

Description: This resource combines secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and material culture images into one cross-searchable platform.

Contents: E-books; Primary Sources; Secondary Sources

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Performing Arts; Music; Media

Description: A collection of resources across disciplines including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.

Contents: E-books

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: History

Description: The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.

Contents: Primary Sources

Access: UDo/EZproxy
New
Subjects: Architecture; Design

Description: Detail Inspiration is a key database for architecture and design. It contains a vast archive of information and research, providing information on more than 3,000 projects.

Contents: Popular (non-scholarly) Magazine Articles; Trade/Professional Articles

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: A comprehensive collection of scholarly journals and books covering the humanities and social sciences published by Duke University Press.

Contents: Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Business

Description: Search and view the full text of Harvard Business Review's complete catalogue of e-books.

Contents: E-Books

Access: UDo/Ezproxy
Trial
Subjects: Sport Science

Description: This resource contains a collection of cross-searchable e-books and videos covering fitness, exercise, coaching and sport.

Contents: E-books; Videos

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: This resource contains video demonstrations teaching key concepts and fundamental techniques across a wide range of STEM subjects.

Contents: Streaming Video

Access: UDo/Ezproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: This resource provides access to 12 distinct e-book collections, covering a wide range of subject areas including Film Studies, History, Literature Studies, Politics and International Relations.

Contents: E-books

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Mathematics; Statistics

Description: This resource provides access to a collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics and 11 journals published by Mathematical Sciences Publishers (MSP).

Contents: Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Articles; Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Abstracts

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: ProQuest Central provides access to periodicals covering all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Contents: Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (non-scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Conference Proceedings; News; Videos; E-books

Access: UDo/Ezproxy
Trial
Subjects: MANY

Description: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Contents: Dissertations; Theses

Access: UDo/Ezproxy
Trial
Subjects: Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Automotive Engineering; Computer Science

Description: Access to a wide variety of technical content from the Society for Automotive Engineering.

Contents: Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Technical Papers

Access: UDo/Ezproxy
Trial
Subjects: Performing Arts; Film

Description: A collection of award-winning screenplays, critical, contextual and practical books on films and filmmaking from the late nineteenth century to the present, expert overview articles on key themes, and an interactive timeline of cinema history to enhance contextual understanding.

Contents: E-books

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Business & Management

Description: Access to market research reports and market and consumer data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and 170 industries.

Contents: Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
Subjects: Business & Management

Description: Statista Global Consumer Survey provides access to an analytical tool to investigate and gain insight to consumer behavior, drawn from a global survey covering more than 50 industries and topics.

Contents: Statistics / Datasets

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Trial
The University of Derby Library has trial access to this resource until 3rd July 2020.

Subjects: MANY

Description: Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including more than 12,000 articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials including presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.

Contents: E-books; Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Articles; Scholarly (peer reviewed) Journal Abstracts

Access: UDo/Shibboleth
Trial
Subjects: Religious Studies

Description: Theology & Religion Online is the digital home to a growing range of resources designed for students and scholars of Theology, Biblical Studies, Religious Studies and related fields.

Contents: E-books; Images; Audio

Access: UDo/EZproxy
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...