LibGuides: Built Environment: Subject Databases and Journals

Key Subject Resources

Art and Architecture Archive A major research resource comprising key consumer and trade publications and art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Includes essential primary sources from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening.
British Library for Development Studies Europe's most comprehensive research collection on development issues. Searchable online catalogue which includes research reports, books, magazines, newspapers and journal articles.
Construction Information Service An industry focused collection including technical standards, guidance and reports for the Construction Industry from over 500 publishers. Includes access to the Architect's Journal. All documents are available in full-text.
more...less...
From the IHS Home page, select Construction Information Service (top left).
Detail Inspiration Detail Inspiration is a key database for architecture and design. It contains a vast archive of information and research, providing information on more than 3,000 projects.
Gale Power Search This resource searches across all Gale databases to which the University of Derby subscribes, including Academic OneFile, Gale OneFile and OneFile: News
GreenFile GreenFILE is a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns.
ICE Virtual Library Comprehensive collection of journals and eBooks from the Institution of Civil Engineers.
Science Direct Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.
Sustainable Development Goals Online Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including more than 12,000 articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials including presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.

You will be able to read many of the articles you find from these databases, in full text online, or download a PDF copy to keep. On some sites you may see just the 'Abstract' or description of the article; in these cases, if we do not have a subscription to the relevant journal, you may be able to get the full article through our Inter Library loan service.

Construction Information Service An industry focused collection including technical standards, guidance and reports for the Construction Industry from over 500 publishers. Includes access to the Architect's Journal. All documents are available in full-text.
more...less...
From the IHS Home page, select Construction Information Service (top left).
eBook Central One of the Library's main eBook platforms, providing a breadth and depth of eBooks from sources including University Presses and major publishers.
EBSCO eBook Collection Search and view the full text of EBSCO eBooks across a range of subject areas.
Gale Power Search This resource searches across all Gale databases to which the University of Derby subscribes, including Academic OneFile, Gale OneFile and OneFile: News
ICE Virtual Library Comprehensive collection of journals and eBooks from the Institution of Civil Engineers.
Knovel Collection of searchable eBooks across a broad range of Engineering topics. Also includes a wealth of data, equations, materials properties and a unit converter.
Sustainable Development Goals Online Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including more than 12,000 articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials including presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
VLeBooks VLeBooks is one of the Library's main eBook platforms. You can search for eBooks from across a range of different academic subjects.

ICE Virtual Library: Help Guide A short PDF of Powerpoint slides pointing out some of the features of the ICE Virtual Library

BCIS BCIS provides independent cost and price information for UK construction businesses. From March 2020, BCIS is temporarily available both on and off campus This resource has a specific username/password provided. Details provided on the linked page.
Construction Information Service An industry focused collection including technical standards, guidance and reports for the Construction Industry from over 500 publishers. Includes access to the Architect's Journal. All documents are available in full-text.
more...less...
From the IHS Home page, select Construction Information Service (top left).
British Standards Online A comprehensive collection of all British standards and the EN or ISO equivalents. All Standards in our subscription are available in full text. Contents: Technical Standards
ISURV A database of guidance and advice related to the Built Environment from RICS. A series of helpful videos from RICS is available on Youtube. If you're using iSurv on-campus, you don't need a password. If you're using iSurv off-campus, then you will need to use the login details provided on the linked page.

NOTES

BCIS For off campus use you will need a specific username and password. Details are given when you click on the link to the resource.

British Standards Online (BSOL) have recently introduced a new security feature which requires users to install a plug-in to download any standards documents from the site. More information and instructions for how to download the plug-in onto personal devices can be found here: https://www.bsigroup.com/en-GB/topics/supporting-our-clients-and-content-partners/

There is an additional guide below giving more complete information about using the the Fileopen Plug-in and updating Chrome settings in order to download and open PDF documents from BSOL.

ITS have added the plug-in to all student PCS on-campus and staff are able to download the plug-in from the Software Centre.

Construction Information Service (CIS) is an updated database of documents, reports and publications from construction related professional bodies, associations and organisations. It is one of the key information sources for all Built Environment courses and is useful to search when looking for any information for your course. See the step-by-step guide below for information about accessing CIS.

It includes the Metric Handbook, Building Regulations Approved Documents, Architects Journal, all Building Research Establishment publications and some books in full.
Note that it lists British Standards relevant to construction (including Eurocodes) but to view standards in full, you need to look in British Standards Online.

ISURV is available on and off-campus. For off campus use you will need a specific log in; details are given when you click on the link to the resource.

Construction Information Service: short step-by-step guide to accessing CIS and finding documents. You can download the slides as a PDF below.

Many of the database providers have their own help guides which you can find on their websites or on Youtube. We have also created video guides to some of the key databases for Built Environment which you can find here.

British Standards help guide: 2021 version

Knovel help guide 2021 version

The ICE Virtual Library video below has no narration.

In addition to the key databases identified in the tabs on this page, you can search across all our subscription databases using the A-Z Indexes and Databases page.