You will be able to read many of the articles you find from these databases, in full text online, or download a PDF copy to keep. On some sites you may see just the 'Abstract' or description of the article; in these cases, if we do not have a subscription to the relevant journal, you may be able to get the full article through our Inter Library loan service.
You need to have logged into UDo to use the databases and can access them both in the University and off campus. Where there are special conditions for off-campus use which may require a different log in, information will be provided in the NOTES section of each tab.
NOTES
British Standards Online (BSOL) have recently introduced a new security feature which requires users to download a plug-in to read any documents on the site. More information and instructions for how to download the plug-in onto personal devices can be found here: https://www.bsigroup.com/en-GB/topics/supporting-our-clients-and-content-partners/
ITS have added the plug-in to all student PCS and staff are able to download the plug-in from the Software Centre
Westlaw is one of the most important legal databases. You can use it to find law reports, legislation, journal articles and eBooks.
LexisLibrary is the second of the main legal databases used at the University of Derby. You can use it to find law reports, legislation, journal articles, as well as an online version of Halsbury's Laws of England.
For more information see the Library guide for Law.
Many of the database providers have their own help guides which you can find on their websites or on Youtube. We have also created video guides to some of the key databases for Built Environment which you can find here.
Web of Science Video Tutorials
The following videos have no voiceover but they do have a music track, you can use the mute option if you find it distracting.
In addition to the key databases identified in the tabs on this page, you can search across all our subscription databases using the A-Z Indexes and Databases page.
