Finding Images and Video

The British Cartoon Archive is located in Canterbury at the University of Kent. It has a library, archive, and exhibition gallery, and is dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. The BCA holds the artwork for more than 150,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.

Images from the collections of the British Library.

A range of collections from the heritage sector linked under one search facility.

Digital content from a wide range of European museum, library and art gallery collections.

Collection of images from this international museum of photography and film.

Search the Getty Museum collections, including Open Access Images.

Search the collections of the Imperial War Museum with over 90,000 digital images.

Online catalogues and digital images, many of which are freely available.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google

Over 400,000 images have been made freely available to download. Just look for the OASC logo beneath the image before downloading.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.

Local photographs from the museums and libraries of Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire.

Collection of photographs from museum and private collections.

The Wallace Collection is a national museum which displays the wonderful works of art collected in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries by the first four Marquesses of Hertford and Sir Richard Wallace, the son of the 4th Marquess.

Images from the UN Photo Library both contemporary and archive back to the 1940s.

Images of artworks and artefacts held by the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Download, share, and reuse millions of images from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centres, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Explore the world's finest newsreel archives.
220,000 films dating from 1896 to 1984.