Skip to Main Content

Hospitality and Tourism

Company Research

Company Research: Your Roadmap to Success in Hospitality & Tourism

Company research is the systematic process of gathering and analysing information about a specific company within the hospitality and tourism industry. It involves examining a company's financial performance, market position, competitive landscape, management structure, customer reviews, and other relevant factors. This information provides a comprehensive understanding of the company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats (SWOT analysis), which can inform various career and business decisions.

Why Company Research is Crucial for Hospitality & Tourism Students:

  • Job Search and Career Development: Thorough company research is essential when preparing for job interviews or exploring career opportunities in the industry. Understanding a company's culture, values, customer service approach, and sustainability initiatives can help you assess whether it's a good fit for your career goals and personal values.
  • Competitive Analysis: Understanding how a company operates, its target market, and its competitive strategies can provide valuable insights for developing your own business plans or marketing strategies within the hospitality and tourism sector.
  • Case Studies and Academic Projects: Company research provides real-world examples and data for case studies, presentations, and academic projects, enhancing your understanding of industry concepts and their practical applications.
  • Networking and Industry Connections: Building knowledge of key companies in your field of interest can open doors for networking and potential internships or job opportunities.

Where to Find Information for Hospitality & Tourism Company Research:

  • Company Websites: Most hospitality and tourism companies have detailed websites where you can find information about their properties, services, sustainability initiatives, awards, and career opportunities.
  • Financial News and Databases: Financial news outlets and databases like FAME and Marketline cover major hospitality and tourism companies, providing financial data, market analysis, and news updates.
  • Review Websites: Websites like TripAdvisor and Yelp offer customer reviews and ratings of hotels, restaurants, and attractions, providing valuable insights into customer satisfaction and areas for improvement.
  • Industry Reports: Industry-specific reports from databases like Marketline and Mintel provide comprehensive overviews of various sectors within hospitality and tourism, including key players, trends, and challenges.
  • Social Media: Following companies on social media platforms like LinkedIn, X (Twitter), and Instagram can provide insights into their culture, values, marketing strategies, and customer engagement.
  • Professional Networks: Connecting with industry professionals on platforms like LinkedIn can offer valuable insights and potential networking opportunities.

FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy) is a comprehensive database specialising in UK and Irish company information, including a substantial focus on the hospitality and tourism sector. It's a treasure trove of financial and business data, making it an essential tool for students and professionals researching companies within the industry.

What FAME Contains for Hospitality & Tourism:

  • Company Financials: Up to 20 years of detailed financial information for UK and Irish hospitality and tourism businesses, including hotels, restaurants, pubs, travel agencies, tour operators, and attractions. This allows for in-depth analysis of a company's financial health and performance over time.
  • Company Information: Extensive information on company activities, ownership structures, subsidiaries, directors, and key contacts. This can help you understand a company's corporate structure, leadership, and connections within the hospitality and tourism industry.
  • Industry Data: FAME provides summarised information for smaller hospitality and tourism businesses, allowing for broader industry analysis and comparisons.
  • Credit Scores and Ratings: Access to credit scores, ratings, and information on County Court Judgments (CCJs) and mortgages, providing insights into a company's creditworthiness and financial risk.
  • News and Updates: Regular updates from Companies House and major news providers ensure that the data in FAME is current and relevant for the hospitality and tourism sector.

When FAME is Useful for Hospitality & Tourism Students:

  • Company Analysis and Valuation: FAME's detailed financial data is essential for conducting in-depth company analysis, financial modeling, and valuation exercises within the hospitality and tourism sector. This information can be used for academic projects, investment research, or case studies.
  • Competitor Analysis: By comparing the financial performance and business activities of different hospitality and tourism companies, you can gain insights into competitive dynamics within the industry and identify potential opportunities or threats.
  • Industry Research: FAME's extensive company data allows for comprehensive analysis of the hospitality and tourism industry, helping you understand market trends, key players, and overall industry performance.
  • Risk Assessment: Credit scores, ratings, and CCJ data can help you assess the financial health and risk profile of companies within the hospitality and tourism sector.
  • Due Diligence: For students considering placements or employment at a particular hospitality or tourism company, FAME can provide valuable background information on the company's financial stability, ownership structure, and management team.

When using FAME, look for the little orange question mark icon at the top of the page - this will bring up the built-in Help pages. There is guidance on using FAME, including walk-throughs and videos that you can watch or download.

We also have a short introductory video to using FAME that you can watch below.

 

Marketline is a comprehensive online database that provides in-depth analysis and data on companies worldwide, with a significant focus on the hospitality and tourism sector. It's an essential resource for students and professionals seeking to understand the intricacies of individual companies within the industry, enabling them to make informed decisions based on reliable data and expert analysis.

What Marketline Contains for Hospitality & Tourism Company Research:

  • Company Profiles: Detailed information on major players in the hospitality and tourism industry, such as hotel chains (e.g., Marriott, Hilton, Accor), airlines (e.g., British Airways, Emirates, Delta), cruise lines (e.g., Carnival, Royal Caribbean, Norwegian), tour operators (e.g., TUI, Thomas Cook), and online travel agencies (OTAs) (e.g., Booking.com, Expedia), including:
    • Financials: Revenue, profits, expenses, and other key financial metrics.
    • SWOT Analyses: A comprehensive overview of the company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.
    • Key Executives: Information on the company's leadership team, including their roles and backgrounds.
    • Strategic Insights: Analysis of the company's business model, competitive positioning, and growth strategies.
  • Financial Deals: Data on mergers and acquisitions, investments, and partnerships within the hospitality and tourism industry, providing insights into a company's financial activities and growth strategies.
  • News and Analysis: Up-to-date news and expert commentary on specific companies and their performance, helping you stay informed about the latest developments, challenges, and opportunities in the sector.
  • Industry Reports: While primarily focused on companies, Marketline also provides industry reports that offer valuable context on the competitive landscape, market trends, and key players relevant to the specific company being researched.

With Marketline, you can gain a comprehensive understanding of the inner workings of hospitality and tourism companies, from their financial performance and strategic direction to their market positioning and competitive landscape. This information can be invaluable for academic research, job applications, investment decisions, or simply staying informed about the industry you're passionate about.

You may want to download the Marketline user guide to give you some direction when you first start using Marketline - link - or watch some of the Marketline guidance videos - link.

We also have a short video showing the basics of using Marketline available to watch below.

 

ProQuest One Business is a one-stop shop for students and professionals in the hospitality and tourism industry, providing a wealth of information from scholarly journals to real-time market news, all within a single platform.

What ProQuest One Business Offers for Hospitality & Tourism Company Research:

  • Company Profiles: Detailed information on major players in the industry, such as hotel chains (e.g., Marriott, Hilton, IHG), airlines (e.g., British Airways, Emirates, Ryanair), cruise lines (e.g., Carnival, Royal Caribbean, MSC Cruises), tour operators (e.g., TUI, Jet2holidays), and online travel agencies (OTAs) (e.g., Booking.com, Expedia), including:

    • Financials: Revenue, profits, expenses, and other key financial metrics.
    • SWOT Analyses: A comprehensive overview of the company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.
    • Key Executives: Information on the company's leadership team, including their roles and backgrounds.
    • News Coverage: Articles and press releases about the company's recent activities, performance, and initiatives.

  • Industry Reports: Comprehensive overviews of various sectors within hospitality and tourism, such as hotels, restaurants, attractions, events, and transportation, providing context for the competitive landscape, market trends, and challenges relevant to your chosen company.

  • News Articles: Up-to-date coverage from major business publications and industry-specific sources, allowing you to track a company's performance and stay informed about the latest developments in the sector.

  • Scholarly Journals: Access to academic research on hospitality and tourism topics, including case studies and analyses of specific companies, destinations, or industry trends. This can provide valuable insights into best practices, emerging challenges, and innovative solutions.

With ProQuest One Business, you can gain a comprehensive understanding of the companies that shape the hospitality and tourism landscape, their performance, strategies, and the broader industry context in which they operate. This knowledge is essential for making informed decisions, whether you're a student conducting research for an assignment, a professional seeking to understand the competitive landscape, or an investor evaluating potential opportunities.

The video below will show you how to do a company analysis using One Business.

Gale Business Insights is a powerful research database that offers a wealth of information on companies within the hospitality and tourism sector. It's an essential tool for students and professionals seeking in-depth insights into the inner workings of key industry players, enabling them to make informed decisions and gain a competitive edge.

What Gale Business Insights Offers for Hospitality & Tourism Company Research:

  • Company Profiles: Detailed information on major players in the industry, such as hotel chains (e.g., Marriott, Hilton, IHG), airlines (e.g., British Airways, Emirates, Ryanair), cruise lines (e.g., Carnival, Royal Caribbean, MSC Cruises), tour operators (e.g., TUI, Jet2holidays), and online travel agencies (OTAs) (e.g., Booking.com, Expedia), including:

    • Financials: Comprehensive financial data, including revenue, profits, expenses, and key ratios, allowing you to assess a company's financial health and performance.
    • SWOT Analyses: A deep dive into a company's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats, providing a holistic view of its competitive positioning and strategic challenges.
    • Company Histories: Background information on a company's founding, growth, and major milestones, offering context for its current operations and future direction.
    • Key Executives: Profiles of the company's leadership team, including their roles, backgrounds, and experience, helping you understand the people behind the brand.

  • Industry Reports: While primarily focused on companies, Gale Business Insights also offers industry reports that provide context on the broader competitive landscape, market trends, and key challenges facing the hospitality and tourism sector.

  • News and Articles: Up-to-date news and articles from a variety of sources, including trade publications, newspapers, and magazines, keeping you informed about the latest developments, mergers and acquisitions, regulatory changes, and other significant events impacting the companies you're researching.

With Gale Business Insights, you can gain a comprehensive understanding of the companies that shape the hospitality and tourism landscape, their financial performance, strategic direction, leadership, and the broader industry context in which they operate. This knowledge is essential for making informed decisions in your academic research, job search, or professional career within the dynamic and ever-evolving world of hospitality and tourism.