LibGuides: Hospitality and Tourism: Keeping Up To Date

Riding the Edge of the Wave: Keeping Current with Hospitality and Tourism Research

The hospitality and tourism landscape is constantly evolving. New travel trends emerge, consumer preferences shift, regulations change, and groundbreaking research reshapes the industry. As a hospitality and tourism student, it's crucial to develop the skills to keep your research current and ensure the information you rely on is accurate, relevant, and up-to-date.

Why Updating Research Matters

Avoiding outdated information: Markets, technologies, and tourism strategies are dynamic. Relying on outdated information can lead to flawed analyses, missed opportunities, and misguided decision-making.
Ensuring accuracy: Updating your research guarantees you're referencing the most recent data, trends, and analyses, accurately reflecting the current state of the hospitality and tourism environment.
Building a strong argument: Incorporating the latest industry insights and research findings into your work demonstrates thoroughness, credibility, and a commitment to staying informed.

Useful Resources

Alerts: Set up email alerts for specific topics, companies, or destinations within major databases like Hospitality and Tourism Index, Marketline, or ProQuest One Business to receive notifications when new information is published.
Social media: Follow industry leaders, hospitality and tourism publications like Skift or Travel Weekly, and relevant organisations like the UN Tourism (UNWTO) or the Tourism Alliance on platforms like LinkedIn and Twitter to stay informed about emerging trends and discussions.
Industry-Specific Websites: Many sectors within hospitality and tourism have organisations (e.g., the UK Hospitality, the Adventure Travel Trade Association) that publish reports, news, and data specific to their area.
Google Alerts: Create custom alerts for specific keywords or phrases related to your research interests (e.g., "sustainable tourism trends," "hotel technology innovations") to receive notifications when new content appears online.

The hospitality and tourism sector is constantly evolving, with new trends, technologies, and regulations emerging rapidly. To make informed decisions and stay competitive, it's crucial to keep your finger on the pulse of the latest UK hospitality and tourism research. Here are some effective strategies and resources to help you stay informed:

Library Databases:

Hospitality and Tourism Index: This bibliographic database covers all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends and hotel management. Search for relevant journal articles within this database and set up alerts to receive notifications when new articles on your chosen topics are published.
Marketline: This database offers in-depth industry and country profile reports for various sectors within hospitality and tourism. Set up alerts to receive notifications about new reports and data.
ProQuest One Business: This platform provides access to a large collection of scholarly journals, industry reports, and news articles related to hospitality and tourism. Use its search features to find relevant information on specific topics and set up alerts to stay informed about new publications.

News and Media Sources:

Skift: A leading source of hospitality and travel news and analysis. Subscribe to their newsletters or follow them on social media for updates on breaking news and trends.
Travel Weekly: This publication provides news and insights on the travel industry, including the UK market. Sign up for their email alerts or follow them on social media for updates.
Industry-Specific Publications: Follow trade journals and publications relevant to your area of interest (e.g., Caterer for hospitality, TTG for travel agents, Boutique Hotelier for boutique hotels).

Social Media:

LinkedIn: Follow relevant companies, industry leaders, and professional organisations like the Institute of Hospitality or UKHospitality to stay informed about industry news and discussions.
Twitter: Monitor hashtags related to your field of interest (e.g., #UKHospitality, #TravelTech, #SustainableTourism) to discover trending topics and insights.

Industry Events and Conferences:

Conferences and Webinars: Participate in events organised by professional associations, industry groups like the Tourism Alliance, and universities to network with experts, learn about new research findings, and gain insights into emerging trends. Many offer discounted places or bursaries for students.
Trade Shows: Visit trade shows like the World Travel Market or the Independent Hotel Show to see the latest products and services, connect with suppliers, and learn about industry innovations.

Additional Resources:

Government Websites: Stay informed about policy changes, tourism statistics, and industry regulations through official government sources like VisitBritain, the Department for Culture, Media & Sport, and the Office for National Statistics. Look out for email alert or newsletter options.
Think Tanks and Research Institutions: Explore reports and publications from think tanks like the Tourism Society or the International Centre for Tourism and Hospitality Research at Bournemouth University to gain in-depth analysis of UK tourism issues.

Google Alerts is a free tool that allows you to monitor the web for new content related to your chosen keywords. While primarily designed for news and general web content, it can also be a valuable resource for hospitality and tourism students to stay informed about travel trends, industry news, and competitor activity. Here's how you can use it effectively:

Setting Up Google Alerts for Hospitality and Tourism Research

Go to Google Alerts: Visit the Google Alerts website.
Enter Your Search Terms:
- Company Names: Track news and updates about specific companies you're interested in (e.g., "Marriott," "Airbnb").
- Destination Keywords: Monitor broad destination terms and trends (e.g., "sustainable tourism trends," "European travel").
- Hotel/Accommodation Types or Categories: Stay informed about specific types of accommodations or services (e.g., "boutique hotels UK," "eco-lodges").
- Tourism Events or Conferences: Track relevant events or conferences in the industry (e.g., "World Travel Market," "ITB Berlin").
- Travel Regulations or Advisories: Monitor changes in travel regulations or advisories for specific destinations (e.g., "travel restrictions to Europe").
Customise Your Alerts:
- Sources: Choose the types of sources you want to monitor (e.g., news, blogs, discussions).
- Region: Select the geographic region relevant to your research (e.g., Europe, Asia).
- Frequency: Determine how often you want to receive alerts (e.g., daily, weekly, as-it-happens).

Tips for Using Google Alerts in Hospitality and Tourism Research

Refine Your Search Terms: Experiment with different combinations of keywords and phrases to find the most relevant alerts.
Use Quotation Marks: Enclose phrases in quotation marks to search for exact matches (e.g., "luxury travel trends").
Exclude Terms: Use the minus sign (-) to exclude irrelevant terms (e.g., "Hilton -Paris").
Combine Search Terms: Use the "OR" operator to search for multiple terms (e.g., "hotel marketing OR hospitality marketing").
Be Selective: Don't overload your inbox. Start with a few essential alerts and add more as needed.
Verify Information: Always cross-reference information from Google Alerts with reliable hospitality and tourism sources (e.g., company websites, industry reports, reputable travel publications) before using it in your research.

Benefits and Limitations

Benefits: Google Alerts can help you:

Stay on top of breaking hospitality and tourism news.
Track industry trends and competitor activities.
Monitor public sentiment and brand reputation.
Identify emerging destinations and travel patterns.

Limitations: Google Alerts may not capture all relevant hospitality and tourism information, especially in-depth analyses or proprietary data. It's best used as a supplemental tool alongside other research methods.