Changes to EBSCO databases

EBSCO databases gives you access to a wide range of content from e-books and articles from journals to conference papers and news articles through a number of full text databases and indexes from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases. EBSCOhost offers the ability to select the databases you want to search by database name or by subject area and allows you to search across multiple databases simultaneously.

The EBSCO databases we subscribe to, and the databases which will be changing, are as follows:

AMED
British Education Index (BEI)
CINAHL Ultimate
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
eBooks for FE Collection
Hospitality and Tourism Index (HTI)
HW Wilson (Art Full Text and Science Full Text)
Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection
SPORTDiscus

Based on customer feedback, usage data, user research and usability studies EBSCO have redesigned the search screens, or user interfaces (UI), for their databases. The new UI should give you a more intuitive, streamlined way to search the databases to improve usability and your search results. There will be some new features including personalised dashboards, new ways to share and save resources, reading eBooks, and much more.  

For the University of Derby, these changes will be made on 5 August 2025, so after that date, the search screens will look different. We understand that changes such as this can be unsettling, particularly if you are familiar with how such databases work. Library staff are here to ensure the transition is as seamless as possible, and if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email library@derby.ac.uk or use Library Chat.

For an introduction to the changes, please see the video below which has been produced by EBSCO.