Google Scholar, a specialised search engine for academic research, is an invaluable resource for criminology and policing students seeking to explore the vast landscape of research, theories, and practices in their field. By indexing scholarly literature across various disciplines, including criminology, criminal justice, law, sociology, psychology, and forensic science, Google Scholar allows you to discover relevant research articles, case studies, policy reports, crime statistics, and other scholarly materials.
How Google Scholar Enhances Research in Criminology and Policing:
- Interdisciplinary Exploration: Google Scholar's broad scope enables you to explore criminological and policing research from an interdisciplinary perspective, uncovering connections with fields like sociology, psychology, law, and public policy. This can enrich your understanding of crime, its causes, and potential solutions.
- Discovering Diverse Perspectives: Google Scholar can lead you to a wide range of theoretical frameworks and methodological approaches within criminology and policing. This exposure to diverse voices and debates can help you develop a more nuanced understanding of crime and justice issues.
- Uncovering Cutting-Edge Research and Policy: Google Scholar can surface cutting-edge research, policy reports, and case studies on emerging crime trends, policing strategies, and criminal justice reforms. This can help you stay informed about the latest developments and identify potential areas for your own research or career development.
- Accessing Crime Statistics and Data: Google Scholar can help you locate official crime statistics, government reports, and datasets related to crime and policing. This data can be invaluable for conducting your own research and analysis.
Important Considerations When Using Google Scholar:
- Pre-print Versions: Be aware that some versions of papers found on Google Scholar may be pre-prints, which are early versions of articles that have not yet undergone peer review. Always verify that you are accessing the final, published version of an article for the most accurate and reliable information.
- Paywalls: Some articles found on Google Scholar may be behind paywalls, meaning you may need to pay a fee or have a subscription to access the full text. This is where Lean Library comes in handy!
Lean Library: Your Gateway to Full-Text Access
To enhance your Google Scholar experience and overcome paywall barriers, the library provides Lean Library, a browser extension that seamlessly integrates with Google Scholar. It indicates whether the University of Derby provides access to the full text of the articles you find, and if so, provides a direct link to access the article through the library's subscriptions. This streamlines your research process and ensures you can access the criminology and policing resources you need without incurring additional costs.
Comparing Google Scholar and Library Search:
While both Google Scholar and Library Search offer access to scholarly literature, they have distinct advantages for criminology and policing students:
- Library Search: Provides a curated collection of resources specifically tailored to the needs of criminology and policing students and researchers. It includes specialized databases like Criminal Justice Abstracts and PsycINFO, which offer a wealth of criminological research, crime statistics, and psychological studies related to crime and justice.
- Google Scholar: Offers a broader scope, potentially uncovering lesser-known or interdisciplinary sources. When combined with Lean Library, it provides a streamlined way to access full-text articles available through the university library.
Optimising Your Research Strategy:
For the most effective research in criminology and policing, it's recommended to use both Google Scholar (with Lean Library) and Library Search, along with specialised databases like Criminal Justice Abstracts and PsycINFO. This multifaceted approach ensures you have access to the widest possible range of resources, combining the strengths of each platform to uncover the most relevant and informative sources for your research and studies.
