Skip to Main Content

Criminology & Policing

Staying Ahead in Criminology and Policing: Keeping Current with Research and Developments

The landscape of crime and policing is constantly evolving. New crime trends emerge, societal attitudes shift, legislation changes, and groundbreaking research reshapes our understanding of criminal behaviour and effective policing strategies. As a criminology and policing student, it's essential to develop the skills to keep your research current and ensure the information you rely on is accurate, relevant, and up-to-date.

Why Updating Research Matters

  • Avoiding outdated information: Crime patterns, policing tactics, and societal responses to crime are dynamic. Relying on outdated information can lead to flawed analyses, missed opportunities for intervention, and ineffective policies. For instance, using outdated data on youth crime might not accurately reflect current trends influenced by social media or changing economic conditions.
  • Ensuring accuracy: Updating your research ensures you are referencing the most recent data, trends, and analyses, accurately reflecting the current state of crime and policing. This is crucial when evaluating the impact of new policing initiatives or legislation changes.
  • Building a strong argument: Incorporating the latest research findings into your work demonstrates thoroughness, credibility, and a commitment to evidence-based practices. This is essential when advocating for policy changes or developing crime prevention strategies.

Useful Resources

  • Alerts: Set up email alerts for specific topics, legislation, or crime types within major criminal justice databases like Criminal Justice Abstracts or National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) to receive notifications when new information is published.
  • Social media: Follow criminology and policing experts, organisations like the College of Policing or the National Police Chiefs' Council (NPCC), and relevant news outlets on platforms like Twitter or LinkedIn to stay informed about emerging trends and discussions.
  • Government Websites: Regularly check official sources like GOV.UK and the Office for National Statistics (ONS) for crime statistics, policy updates, and reports on policing and criminal justice issues in the UK.
  • Google Scholar Alerts: Create custom alerts for specific keywords or phrases related to your research interests (e.g., "domestic violence prevention," "restorative justice UK") to receive notifications when new scholarly publications become available.

By actively employing these resources and strategies, you'll stay ahead of the curve in the ever-changing field of criminology and policing, ensuring your research and analyses are always based on the most current and relevant information available.

The fields of criminology and policing are constantly evolving, with new crime trends, policing strategies, legal frameworks, and research findings emerging regularly. To be an effective practitioner or researcher, it's crucial to keep your finger on the pulse of the latest developments. Here are some effective strategies and resources tailored for criminology and policing students to help you stay informed:

  • Use Criminal Justice Databases:
    • Criminal Justice Abstracts: This comprehensive database provides access to a wide range of academic journals, reports, and publications on criminology, law enforcement, corrections, and related fields. Set up email alerts for specific topics or keywords to receive updates on new research.
    • Criminal Justice Database: A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Set up email alerts for specific topics or keywords to receive updates on new research.
    • National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS): This U.S.-based resource offers a vast collection of publications, reports, and statistics on crime and justice issues, including international perspectives. Subscribe to their newsletters and alerts for updates on research and policy developments.
    • Campbell Collaboration Crime and Justice Group: This international research network produces systematic reviews of interventions in crime and justice, providing evidence-based insights into what works and what doesn't.
  • Explore Library Resources:
    • Library Search: Set up alerts for searches in Library Search to receive emails when new books or articles on your topics of interest are added to the collection.
    • BrowZine/Journals: Add key criminology and policing journals to your BrowZine bookshelf and receive email alerts when new articles are published.
  • Follow News and Media Sources:
    • The Guardian (Crime section): This UK newspaper provides comprehensive coverage of crime and justice issues in the UK and internationally.
    • Policing Insight: This online publication offers analysis and commentary on policing practices, policy, and research in the UK and beyond.
    • The Marshall Project: This U.S.-based nonprofit news organization focuses on criminal justice issues and produces in-depth reporting and analysis.
  • Engage with Social Media:
    • Twitter: Follow criminology researchers, police departments, government agencies (e.g., Home Office, Ministry of Justice), and advocacy organisations for real-time updates on crime trends, policy debates, and research findings.
    • LinkedIn: Connect with professionals in the field, join relevant groups, and participate in discussions to share knowledge and learn from others' experiences.
  • Attend Events and Conferences:
    • Academic Conferences: Attend conferences hosted by organisations like the British Society of Criminology or the American Society of Criminology to learn about the latest research findings and network with scholars and practitioners. Many offer discounted student rates.
    • Police and Criminal Justice Conferences: Participate in events organised by police forces, government agencies, or professional organisations to gain insights into current challenges and innovations in policing and crime prevention.
  • Additional Resources:

Google Alerts is a free tool that allows you to monitor the web for new content related to your chosen keywords. While primarily designed for news and general web content, it can also be a valuable resource for criminology and policing students to stay informed about crime trends, policy changes, emerging research, and public discourse related to criminal justice issues. Here's how you can use it effectively:

Setting Up Google Alerts for Criminology and Policing Research

  1. Go to Google Alerts: Visit the Google Alerts website.

  2. Enter Your Search Terms:

    • Crime Types: Monitor news and discussions about specific types of crime (e.g., "cybercrime," "domestic violence UK").
    • Policing Strategies: Track developments in policing tactics, technologies, or reforms (e.g., "community policing," "predictive policing").
    • Criminal Justice Issues: Stay informed about broader issues like prison reform, sentencing guidelines, or restorative justice.
    • Specific Legislation or Policies: Follow changes to relevant laws and regulations (e.g., "Police, Crime, Sentencing, and Courts Act 2022").
    • Organisations and Agencies: Monitor news from relevant organisations like the National Police Chiefs' Council (NPCC), College of Policing, or Ministry of Justice.

  3. Customize Your Alerts:

    • Sources: Choose the types of sources you want to monitor (e.g., news, blogs, discussions).
    • Region: Select the geographic region relevant to your research (e.g., United Kingdom).
    • Frequency: Determine how often you want to receive alerts (e.g., daily, weekly, as-it-happens).

Tips for Using Google Alerts in Criminology and Policing Research

  • Refine Your Search Terms: Experiment with different combinations of keywords and phrases to find the most relevant alerts (e.g., "knife crime London," "youth crime prevention").
  • Use Quotation Marks: Enclose phrases in quotation marks to search for exact matches (e.g., "county lines drug trafficking").
  • Exclude Terms: Use the minus sign (-) to exclude irrelevant terms (e.g., "domestic violence -animals").
  • Combine Search Terms: Use the "OR" operator to search for multiple terms (e.g., "hate crime OR extremism").
  • Be Selective: Don't overload your inbox. Start with a few essential alerts and add more as needed.
  • Verify Information: Always cross-reference information from Google Alerts with credible sources (e.g., academic journals, government reports, reputable news outlets) before using it in your research.

Benefits and Limitations

  • Benefits: Google Alerts can help you:
    • Stay up-to-date with the latest crime trends and developments.
    • Track policy changes and public discourse on criminal justice issues.
    • Monitor research and publications in the field of criminology and policing.
    • Gain insights into public perceptions and media coverage of crime.
  • Limitations: Google Alerts may not capture all relevant information, particularly academic research published in subscription-based databases. It's best used as a supplemental tool only.