Simple Search (the single search box) is the default option you'll get when you first search on Library Search. All results will be available in full-text. You can see additional results by clicking on the button Add results without full text.
Remember, you can use the Inter Library Loan service to request any items the library does not have in its collection.
TIP!
Before you carry out a search it's worth signing in with your usual university log in details as this allows you to save searches, resources and much more.
In the search box you can type in anything from a single word to a phrase (see the search techniques tab for more information on using phrase search) and even an article title. As you type in your keywords you will see a pop-up box below the search box where you can pre-filter your search by the type of resource you are interested in:
To find journal articles only, select Articles and Chapters
When you click on the Search button, you will then be shown any full-text resources that match your keywords.
If you wish to see more results, which are NOT available in full-text, you can select the button at the left of the screen 'Add results without full text'.
You can refine and filter your results so they are more relevant and applicable to your needs by using the range of filters to the left of the results screen. The Refine Results sidebar is divided into sections such as Availability, Publication Date, Subject etc. It will also show you any filters you have 'Active'; in this case it is Articles.
You can see an example of this in the picture below.
In the results list, each record will show you the title of the article, the authors and journal publication plus a brief statement from the article's abstract (if available). It will also show links to access the full-text of the article:
Here's an example of two records in a results set:
Clicking on the title of any of your results will open a page where you can see more information about the article such as the abstract, keywords associated with it, links to the online full-text article plus much more. Look at the next tab on this page for more information about the detailed records.
Once you have clicked on the title of any record in your results set it will open a more detailed page. The following images show the details from one article record.
1) This image shows the article title, authors, journal information, a brief introduction to the Abstract, links to download the PDF or access the full text online. This is the same information as displayed in the Results list.
SEND TO gives you options to print the record, obtain a permanent link, email the record to yourself or someone else, get a citation or export the data to a reference management system.
VIEW ONLINE shows links to access the full-text of the article online. There may be one or more links taking you to the article in another database or on the publisher's site.
2) This image is the next section of the screen as you scroll down the page.
It shows
3) This image shows the last section of the screen which includes:
You can find out more about the citation tools on the page about using the Advanced Search.
You can find a series of short help videos in the left hand menu of this guide. These include using the Simple search to find books, eBooks and journal articles.
We also run a workshop on using the simple search in Library Search to find journal articles. You can find them in our calendar of events here.
PLEASE NOTE: a new series of workshops for Library Search will start in October 2022.
