LibGuides: Engineering: Subject Databases and Journals: Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Key Subject Resources for Electrical and Electronic engineering

AES Electronic Library The AES E-library contains over 17,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day.
IEEE Xplore A comprehensive collection of Journals and Conference proceedings from IEEE and SMPTE.
IET Research Hub IET journals are now Open Access and available via the Wiley Online Library.
Science Full text Select This database offers complete coverage of scientific research across an array of disciplines.
Science Direct Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.
SCOPUS Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings
Web of Science Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970

You will be able to read many of the articles you find from these databases, in full text online, or download a PDF copy to keep. On some sites you may see just the 'Abstract' or description of the article; in these cases, if we do not have a subscription to the relevant journal, you may be able to get the full article through our Inter Library loan service.

NOTES:

It can be a little tricky to access articles from the AES journal. The Word document below will give you hints and tips.

Accessing the AES Journal

IEEExplore There is a known glitch on the IEEEXplore site accessed from within the University Library webpage which does not allow you to create a personal account. Please use the IEEEXplore website https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp. Create your account on this site. You can then use the links from the Library pages to access full text documents and log in to your account to save searches and documents.

IEEE user guide
User guide from Content Online.

Science Direct: Libguide

eBook Central One of the Library's main eBook platforms, providing a breadth and depth of eBooks from sources including University Presses and major publishers.
EBSCO eBook Collection Search and view the full text of EBSCO eBooks across a range of subject areas.
Gale Power Searcb This resource searches across all Gale databases to which the University of Derby subscribes, including Academic OneFile, Gale OneFile and OneFile: News
Knovel Collection of searchable eBooks across a broad range of Engineering topics. Also includes a wealth of data, equations, materials properties and a unit converter.
Sage Knowledge Access to an extensive multidisciplinary collection of SAGE and CQ Press eBooks, encyclopedias and handbooks
VLeBooks VLeBooks is one of the Library's main eBook platforms. You can search for eBooks from across a range of different academic subjects.

Ebook Central, Ebsco and VLE are our major eBook suppliers and have content across a broad spectrum of disciplines; not just engineering.

British Standards Online A comprehensive collection of all British standards and the EN or ISO equivalents. All Standards in our subscription are available in full text.
IEEE Xplore A comprehensive collection of Journals and Conference proceedings from IEEE and SMPTE.
IET Research Hub IET journals are now Open Access and available via the Wiley Online Library.
The Purple Guide The essential reference guide to Health & Safety legislation and guidance for the entertainment industry. Includes Crowd and transport management, medical planning, fire safety, working at height etc.

NOTES:

British Standards Online (BSOL) have recently introduced a new security feature which requires users to install a plug-in to download any standards documents from the site. More information and instructions for how to download the plug-in onto personal devices can be found here: https://www.bsigroup.com/en-GB/topics/supporting-our-clients-and-content-partners/

ITS have added the plug-in to all student PCS and staff are able to download the plug-in from the Software Centre

There is an additional guide below giving more complete information about using the the Fileopen Plug-in and updating Chrome settings in order to download and open PDF documents from BSOL.

IEEE user guide
User guide from Content Online.
Downloading PDFs from British Standards Online
BSOL help guide

Association of Lighting Designers
Association of Sound Designers
Audio Engineering Society
Engineering Council: Professional engineering institutions
IEEE
The IET
The Institute of Acoustics The Institute of Acoustics is the UK's professional body for those working in acoustics, noise and vibration. It was formed in 1974 from the amalgamation of the Acoustics Group of the Institute of Physics and the British Acoustical Society (a daughter society of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers). The Institute of Acoustics is a nominated body of the Engineering Council, offering registration at Chartered and Incorporated Engineer levels.
Royal Academy of Engineering
SPIE The international society for optics and photonics.

British Standards help guide: 2021 version

Knovel help guide 2021 version

In addition to the key databases identified in the tabs on this page, you can search across all our subscription databases using the A-Z Indexes and Databases page.