LibGuides: Engineering: Subject Databases and Journals: Mechanical, Manufacturing and Motorsport Engineering

Key Subject resources for Mechanical, Manufacturing and Motorsport Engineering

Gale Power Searcb This resource searches across all Gale databases to which the University of Derby subscribes, including Academic OneFile, Gale OneFile and OneFile: News
IEEExplore A comprehensive collection of Journals and Conference proceedings from IEEE and SMPTE.
Proquest One Business A business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Science Direct Full text access to Elsevier journals from the mid 1990s. Covers all science including health and social sciences.
Science Full Text Select This database offers complete coverage of scientific research across an array of disciplines.
Scopus Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science Worldwide index to journal articles from 1970

NOTES:

IEEExplore There is a known glitch on the IEEEXplore site accessed from within the University Library webpage which does not allow you to create a personal account. Please use the IEEEXplore website https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp. Create your account on this site. You can then use the links from the Library pages to access full text documents and log in to your account to save searches and documents.

IEEE user guide
User guide from Content Online.

Science Direct: Libguide

eBook Central One of the Library's main eBook platforms, providing a breadth and depth of eBooks from sources including University Presses and major publishers.
EBSCO eBook Collection Search and view the full text of EBSCO eBooks across a range of subject areas.
Gale Power Search This resource searches across all Gale databases to which the University of Derby subscribes, including Academic OneFile, Gale OneFile and OneFile: News
Knovel Collection of searchable eBooks across a broad range of Engineering topics. Also includes a wealth of data, equations, materials properties and a unit converter.
SAGE Knowledge Access to an extensive multidisciplinary collection of SAGE and CQ Press eBooks, encyclopedias and handbooks
Sustainable Development Goals Online Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) is an interdisciplinary collection of digital content, including more than 12,000 articles and chapters in an online library covering the 17 SDGs, plus teaching and learning materials including presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
VLeBooks VLeBooks is one of the Library's main eBook platforms. You can search for eBooks from across a range of different academic subjects.

Knovel have provided a fun instructional video using beer brewing as an example og how to use the Knovel resources.

British Standards Online A comprehensive collection of all British standards and the EN or ISO equivalents. All Standards in our subscription are available in full text.
IEEExplore A comprehensive collection of Journals and Conference proceedings from IEEE and SMPTE.

NOTES:

British Standards Online (BSOL) have recently introduced a new security feature which requires users to install a plug-in to download any standards documents from the site. More information and instructions for how to download the plug-in onto personal devices can be found here: https://www.bsigroup.com/en-GB/topics/supporting-our-clients-and-content-partners/

ITS have added the plug-in to all student PCS and staff are able to download the plug-in from the Software Centre.

There is an additional guide below giving more complete information about using the the Fileopen Plug-in and updating Chrome settings in order to download and open PDF documents from BSOL.

IEEE user guide
User guide from Content Online.
Downloading PDFs from British Standards Online
BSOL help guide

British Standards help guide: 2021 version

Knovel help guide 2021 version

In addition to the key databases identified in the tabs on this page, you can search across all our subscription databases using the A-Z Indexes and Databases page.

Useful websites

This is not a resource that is subscribed to by the Library but is freely available online. Student members of the I.Mech. E can make greater use of the library by registering for free. You can find more information here.

“Members can download articles free of charge from the full back catalogue of all 18 I Mech E journals, apart from issues published in the last 12 months.”

You can search the library's catalogue for books, conference proceedings and journal articles, including the contents of the Journals (Proceedings) of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. You will not be able to read the “full text” of these documents on the I.Mech.E site unless you have registered as a student member. It is worth checking our Library catalogue and E-Journals Finder to see if we have access to them through our own collection.

Engineering Council: Professional engineering institutions
A list of links to professional organisations involved with engineering across a range of disciplines.
Royal Academy of Engineering

Espacenet Patents search
Free access to a database of over 90 million world-wide patents.
Ipsum - Online Patent Information and Document Inspection Service
FREE online service which lets you check the status and access information on UK patent applications. You can also get copies of some documents from the open part of the file.
U.K. Trademarks
Information about UK trademarks from the .GOV site.
U.K Patents
Find help and advice from the .GOV website
U.S. Patents and Trademarks Office

Hubs: Knowledge Base
Although this is from a commercial company the Knowledge Base is a useful sources of information and short articles about developemnts in engineering.
Manufacturing: Key economic indicators
Research briefing prepared by the UK government, 2023.