You will be able to read many of the articles you find from these databases, in full text online, or download a PDF copy to keep. On some sites you may see just the 'Abstract' or description of the article; in these cases, if we do not have a subscription to the relevant journal, you may be able to get the full article through our Inter Library loan service.
You need to have logged into UDo to use the databases and can access them both in the University and off campus. Where there are special conditions for off-campus use which may require a different log in, information will be provided in the NOTES section of each tab.
The Local Collection is a special collection of books, journals and reports about Derbyshire, the Peak District and the East Midlands and is located at the back of the first floor at KR Library. It includes a significant number of books and reports on the geology of Derbyshire and the Peak District as well as the journal Mercian Geologist. There is a collection of subject boxes which contain articles on the geology of Derbyshire and the Peak District.
Mercian Geologist
The Local Collection has a complete print set of the Mercian Geologist (the journal of the East Midlands Geological Society) from 1964 onwards.
Online access to the Mercian Geologist is available from 1964 to 2014.
Other local libraries
The Derby Local Studies library holds an extensive collection of local material. The public libraries at Matlock and Chesterfield also hold good local geology collections.
Other county libraries have local studies libraries which may be useful for independent studies.
Many of the database providers have their own help guides which you can find on their websites or on Youtube.
Web of Science Video Tutorials
Scopus Video Tutorials
Science Direct Video Tutorials
The following videos have no voiceover but they do have a music track, you can use the mute option if you find it distracting.
In addition to the key databases identified in the tabs on this page, you can search across all our subscription databases using the A-Z Indexes and Databases page.
