The library subscribes to a large array of multi-disciplinary and subject specific e-resources, e-journals and eBooks to support students on their programme; as well as your own learning and teaching, CPD and research. Many of our resources allow you to set up accounts to do such things as manage or share your research or set up alerts. If you wish to know more about these services, speak to the Academic Enhancement and Research & Publication Practice Teams.
If you would like to find out more about finding and using books, eBooks and journal articles take a look at the guides linked below:
Finding journals and journal articles
A review of e-resources and e-journals is regularly undertaken to ensure value for money and continuation of suitability for the curriculum. Usage statistics and cost per download informs the decision-making process and academic staff are consulted and their opinion is sought throughout the review.
Access to our online resources is primarily via Library Search or by using the links and icons on the main library homepage.
Staff and students can access Library Search (our main discovery tool) and other services through the library tile on UDo. You can find out more about Library Search on the Finding journals and journal articles guide
Recommended resources (eBooks, databases, journals) are also linked on their subject specific libguide. These can all be found on the Key Subject Resources pages of each subject guide..
The University of Derby Online Research Archive (UDORA) is an Open Access, publicly accessible repository of University of Derby (UoD) research publications and other research outputs including our completed doctoral Etheses. It is how staff and students at the University can achieve the Green route to Open Access. You can read much more about UDORA and other Open Access resources on our Research Guide here.
Special Collections
There are several special collections held in our Libraries. These are:
Local Collection (KR)
A collection of resources with a local interest related to Derby and the wider East Midlands. Most of the collection is for reference use only as we have some unique and rare items in the collection.
School Practice Collection (KR)
A collection of Fiction and Non-fiction books and materials primarily at early years/primary school level. Students and staff from the Institute of Education can borrow an additional allocation of books from this collection, often used when on school placement.
Study Skills Collection (KR)
General Study Skills titles are held in separate collections at Kedleston Road Libraries with books having spine labels to identify they are part of the collection.
Subject specific Study Skills titles may be shelved in the general loan collection and will only have a normal class number spine label.
Special Art Collection (KR)
A collection of archival materials, titles of particular importance for visual arts and a collection of Artist’s Books. These are available to staff, students and external visitors for REFERENCE only.
Inter Library Loans
If you need a book or journal article that is not held in any format at one of the University of Derby libraries, the Inter Library Loans (ILLs) service may be able to obtain a copy from another library.
The ILL pages can be found here https://libguides.derby.ac.uk/find/inter-library-loans
As well as the request form you will find full information about what you can request and advice about receiving scanned documents from the British Library or requesting theses . As a member of staff you have unlimited access to the Inter Library Loan service.
SCONUL
If you would like to use resources at other University libraries you are eligible to register for the SCONUL Access scheme.
SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland. You can find more information from the link below.
Jisc Library Hub Discover
Jisc Library Hub Discover brings together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries. This service replaces Copac and SUNCAT, providing access to a growing range of library catalogues, with a new interface style and updated search facilities, with more changes in the pipeline.
Access to computers
Some libraries in the SCONUL Access scheme also provide limited access to computing facilities. You will need to be a SCONUL Access member, as detailed above.
To find out what is offered, please get in touch directly with the library you want to visit.
Computing facilities, where offered, usually include access to the Internet and a suite of office applications. Do not expect to access another library's electronic resources - publishers' copyright forbids this.
