Google Scholar, a specialised search engine for academic research, is an invaluable asset for students and researchers in global affairs, international relations, and politics. By indexing scholarly literature across various disciplines, including political science, history, economics, and international law, Google Scholar allows you to discover relevant research articles, policy papers, government reports, think tank publications, and other scholarly materials.
How Google Scholar Enhances Research in Global Affairs, International Relations, and Politics:
- Interdisciplinary Exploration: Google Scholar's broad scope enables you to explore research from an interdisciplinary perspective, uncovering connections between political science, history, economics, sociology, and other relevant fields. This interdisciplinary approach can enrich your understanding of complex global issues and foster new research ideas.
- Discovering Diverse Perspectives: Google Scholar can lead you to a wide range of perspectives and theoretical frameworks within global affairs, international relations, and politics. This exposure to diverse voices and debates can help you develop a more nuanced understanding of global challenges and policy solutions.
- Uncovering Global Trends and Policy Debates: Google Scholar can surface cutting-edge research, policy papers, and reports on emerging trends and policy debates in global affairs, international relations, and politics. This can help you stay informed about the latest developments and identify potential areas for your own research or analysis.
- Citation Tracking: Google Scholar's citation tracking feature allows you to explore the scholarly conversations surrounding specific topics or research within your field. This can help you identify influential authors, publications, and trends, and situate your own research within the broader academic landscape.
Important Considerations When Using Google Scholar:
- Pre-print Versions: Be aware that some versions of papers found on Google Scholar may be pre-prints, which are early versions of articles that have not yet undergone peer review. Always verify that you are accessing the final, published version of an article for the most accurate and reliable information.
- Paywalls: Some articles found on Google Scholar may be behind paywalls, meaning you may need to pay a fee or have a subscription to access the full text. This is where Lean Library comes in handy.
Lean Library: Your Gateway to Full-Text Access
To enhance your Google Scholar experience and overcome paywall barriers, the library provides Lean Library, a browser extension that seamlessly integrates with Google Scholar. It indicates whether the University of Derby provides access to the full text of the articles you find, and if so, provides a direct link to access the article through the library's subscriptions. This streamlines your research process and ensures you can access the hospitality and tourism resources you need without incurring additional costs.
Comparing Google Scholar and Library Search:
While both Google Scholar and Library Search offer access to scholarly literature, they have distinct advantages for students in global affairs, international relations, and politics:
- Library Search: Provides a curated collection of resources specifically tailored to the needs of students and researchers in these fields. It includes specialised databases like HeinOnline and Social Sciences Citation Index, which offer a wealth of legal- and policy-focused information, international relations research, and political science analyses.
- Google Scholar: Offers a broader scope, potentially uncovering lesser-known or interdisciplinary sources. When combined with Lean Library, it provides a streamlined way to access full-text articles available through the university library.
Optimising Your Research Strategy:
For the most effective research in global affairs, international relations, and politics, it's recommended to use both Google Scholar (with Lean Library) and Library Search, along with databases like HeinOnline and Social Sciences Citation Index. This multifaceted approach ensures you have access to the widest possible range of resources, combining the strengths of each platform to uncover the most relevant and informative sources for your research and studies.
