Skip to Main Content

Global Affairs, International Relations and Politics

Newspapers

Newspapers and news media outlets are invaluable resources for students of international relations, politics, and global affairs. While academic journals offer in-depth analysis, these sources provide real-time perspectives on global events, political developments, and international relations, allowing you to:

  • Stay Current: Keep up with the latest news on international conflicts, diplomatic negotiations, elections, policy changes, and other significant events that shape the global landscape. This helps you understand the practical implications of theories and concepts learned in your studies.
  • Identify Emerging Trends: Recognise emerging trends in global politics, such as shifts in power dynamics, new alliances, or changes in public opinion on key issues, before they are extensively analysed in academic journals.
  • Analyse Real-World Scenarios: Access case studies, real-world examples of political conflicts and international negotiations, and analyses of different policy approaches, allowing you to see how theories and concepts are applied in practice.
  • Gain Regional and Country-Specific Insights: Delve into dedicated sections on specific regions or countries to understand the unique political, economic, and social challenges they face, as well as their foreign policy priorities and international relations strategies.
  • Conduct Preliminary Research: When you need quick information on a global event, political crisis, or international organisation, newspapers and news media can serve as a helpful starting point for your research, providing you with up-to-date information and diverse perspectives.
  • Understand Public Discourse on Global Issues: Gauge public opinion, media framing, and expert commentary on global issues, providing context for your analysis and arguments.

Important Considerations:

  • Critical Evaluation: Always critically evaluate information from newspapers and news media. Consider the source's reputation, potential biases (e.g., political leanings, national interests), and the author's expertise before incorporating the information into your research or analysis.
  • Verification: Verify information from these sources with additional research, including academic journals, government reports, and other reputable sources, to ensure accuracy and reliability.

By engaging with newspapers and news media, you can gain a deeper understanding of the complex and dynamic world of politics, international relations, and global affairs. This knowledge will not only enhance your academic studies but also prepare you for a wide range of careers in diplomacy, government, international organisations, journalism, and academia.

Why might I need this database? 

Gale OneFile: News is the premier newspaper resource available through your university library. It contains nearly 4,000 publications from around the world, with over 750 from the United Kingdom alone. It provides both archival and current access to its content, making it an invaluable tool for staying informed about global events, political developments, and international relations.

Students studying politics, international relations, or global affairs should consider reading the following global newspapers to gain diverse perspectives on political and social issues:

United Kingdom:

  • The Guardian: Features extensive coverage of political affairs, social justice, human rights, and international relations, with a strong focus on investigative journalism and in-depth analysis.
  • The Times: Provides comprehensive reporting on political events, government actions, and policy debates, offering a nuanced understanding of the UK political landscape and its global implications.
  • The Financial Times: While primarily a business publication, it offers insightful analysis of political and economic developments that shape international relations and global markets.

United States:

  • The New York Times: Offers in-depth reporting on U.S. and international politics, foreign policy, and global affairs, providing a comprehensive and well-respected perspective on world events.
  • The Washington Post: Provides comprehensive coverage of political news, focusing on government actions, policy debates, and international relations.
  • The Wall Street Journal: While primarily a business publication, it also offers valuable insights into the political and economic factors that influence global markets and international relations.

Other International Newspapers:

  • The Globe and Mail (Canada): Covers Canadian politics, foreign policy, and international relations, offering a unique perspective on North American and global affairs.
  • The Australian (Australia): Reports on Australian politics, foreign policy, and international relations, providing insights into the Asia-Pacific region.
  • The Irish Times (Ireland): Covers Irish politics, domestic issues, and international relations, offering a European perspective on global events.
  • The Hindu (India): A major Indian newspaper with extensive coverage of Indian politics, foreign policy, and global affairs, providing insights into a key player in the global South.
  • Le Monde (France): A leading French newspaper with in-depth coverage of French and European politics, as well as international affairs.
  • The South China Morning Post (Hong Kong): Covers political and economic developments in China and the Asia-Pacific region, offering a unique perspective on a major global power.

Additional Tips:

  • Read regional and local newspapers: Explore newspapers from different regions and countries to gain a broader understanding of global events and diverse political perspectives.
  • Follow news outlets on social media: Many news organisations share breaking news and analysis on social media platforms, allowing you to stay informed in real-time.
  • Consider alternative news sources: Explore independent media outlets, blogs, and podcasts for alternative perspectives and critical analysis of mainstream news coverage.

Historical newspapers are a treasure trove of information for students in the fields of international relations, politics, and global affairs. They provide a unique perspective on past events, political developments, and societal changes, offering valuable insights into the forces that have shaped our world.

Here's how historical newspapers can enhance your research:

  • Understanding Historical Context: By delving into newspaper archives, you can gain a deeper understanding of the historical context surrounding key events and policies. This can help you interpret current events and analyse the long-term consequences of past decisions.
  • Tracing Political and Social Movements: Historical newspapers document the rise and fall of political movements, social protests, and revolutions, providing insights into the motivations, strategies, and impacts of these movements on national and international politics.
  • Analysing Public Opinion and Discourse: Newspapers offer a glimpse into the public discourse of the past, revealing how people perceived and reacted to political events, social issues, and international conflicts. This can help you understand the evolution of public opinion and its impact on policymaking.
  • Examining International Relations: Historical newspapers report on diplomatic relations, international conflicts, and the activities of international organisations, providing valuable insights into the dynamics of international relations in different historical periods.
  • Researching Specific Events and Personalities: Newspaper archives can be a rich source of information for researching specific events, such as wars, elections, or political crises, as well as the lives and careers of political leaders, diplomats, and activists.

Where to Find Historical Newspapers:

The library provides you with many different sources of historical newspapers that you can discover here and easily access digitally.

  • Gale 19th Century British Library Newspapers
    • This archive includes the archive of over 50 regional and national newspapers from the 19th century. Titles include Glasgow Herald, Manchester Times, and Northern Echo.
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals
    • This archive includes the archive of over 90 periodicals (magazines, journals, and some newspapers) from the 19th century. The collection covers many different titles that reveal life in the nineteenth century and which will be a valuable resources for exploring changing attitudes to life in the UK and the UK's developing society. 
  • Burney Newspaper Collection
    • This archive includes the archive of over 1000 newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries. It also includes Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations. Newspaper titles include Bath Chronicle, Calcutta Chronicle and General Advertiser, and Dublin Gazette.
  • The Times and The Telegraph Archives
    • The library provides a digital archive of The Telegraph from 1855-2016 and The Times from 1785-2019.