Historical research is a cornerstone of understanding the present and predicting future trends in international relations, politics, and global affairs. It equips you with the context and knowledge to analyse current events, policies, and relationships through the lens of the past. Here's a breakdown of the different types of historical resources you might encounter in your research and where to find them:
Primary Sources: These are firsthand accounts and original materials created during the time period you're studying. They offer direct insights into historical events, actors, and perspectives. However, it's important to remember that primary sources often reflect the language and attitudes of their time, which may be offensive or outdated by today's standards.
Library Databases: The Library subscribes to a range of primary source databases, including collections of newspapers from the 17th to 21st century, Parliamentary papers dating back to 1715, as well as special collections devoted to women's suffrage and African-American civil rights. You can browse the full collection at the Databases A-Z page. Gale Primary Sources hosts an entire collection focused on international relations, including collections of Foreign Office correspondence, the archives of the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, and reports of the US Military Government for West Germany 1945-1953.
Archives and Special Collections: Institutions like The National Archives, the British Library, and university libraries often house extensive collections of government documents, diplomatic correspondence, personal papers, diaries, photographs, and other primary sources. These repositories are treasure troves of information for uncovering unique perspectives and details not found in secondary sources.
Digitised Collections: Many archives and libraries have digitised portions of their collections, making them accessible online. Explore platforms like the British Library's Digital Manuscripts or the National Archives' online catalogue to discover a wealth of historical documents from the comfort of your own home.
Oral Histories: Interviews and recordings of individuals who lived through or witnessed historical events can provide valuable firsthand accounts and personal perspectives. Many universities and research institutions have oral history collections that you can access. The British Library's Sounds database and the Library of Congress' audio library are good initial sources.
Secondary Sources:
These are interpretations and analyses of historical events created by historians and other scholars. They offer context, synthesise information, and provide critical interpretations of the past.
Books and Monographs: These provide in-depth analysis and interpretation of specific historical events, periods, or themes. Look for books written by reputable historians and published by academic presses.
Scholarly Journal Articles: Peer-reviewed articles in academic journals offer rigorous research and analysis on specific historical topics. You can find these articles through databases like JSTOR, Project MUSE, and Historical Abstracts.
Documentaries and Historical Films: While not strictly academic sources, documentaries and historical films can provide engaging and informative introductions to historical events and personalities. Always evaluate these sources critically and consider their potential biases.
Other Resources:
Newspapers and Periodicals: Historical newspapers and magazines offer contemporary accounts of events and can provide valuable insights into public opinion and social attitudes at the time. You can access these through paper's own online archives or specialised library databases like Gale OneFile News.
Statistical Data: Historical economic, social, and demographic data can provide quantitative evidence to support your arguments and analyses. Look for historical data from sources like the Library's Statista database, the UK Office for National Statistics (ONS) or international organisations like the World Bank.
By exploring these diverse resources and combining primary and secondary sources, you can build a comprehensive understanding of historical events and their impact on the present. Remember to evaluate sources critically, considering their origins, potential biases, and the context in which they were created. Always approach historical documents with sensitivity, recognizing that language and attitudes may have changed significantly over time.