BBC History: Shakespeare Paper Trail - Part of the BBC History site written by Michael Wood.
British Archive for Contemporary Writing - A growing collection of contemporary authors’ manuscripts, correspondence and related literary material. Including a small selection of online exhibits.
British Library Treasures in Full: Shakespeare - See 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures
CABank - is the TalkBank component that deals with conversations between adults.
CHILDES - CHILDES is the child language component of the Talkbank system for sharing and studying conversational interactions.
Discovering Literature:Romantics & Victorians - Collection from British Library
First World War Poetry Digital Archive- an online repository of over 7,000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research
Folger Shakespeare Library - "Shakespeare's world belongs to you...Come explore"
Fromkins Speech Error Database - A corpus of speech errors, accessible via the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics.
Great Writers Inspire - collection of freely available literary resources
Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics Archives& databases which can be accessed through MPI
Nineteenth Century Poets - British and American poets of the Nineteeth century
Open Library of Humanities - Free resource of journals and books in the humanities.
Paris Review Interviews - The Paris Review has long conducted in-depth interviews with writers in all genres, ranging from fiction to nonfiction, drama to poetry. Much of the magazine's interview archive is now available to non-subscribers.
Talkbank - a project organized at Carnegie Mellon University with the goal to foster fundamental research in the study of human communication with an emphasis on spoken communication
Touchstone Research tool for Shakespeare research in the United Kingdom.
The Victorian Web - Links and resources covering a wide range of arts and humanities topics.
Viva: Women's history - a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals.
British Council Arts site: Literature resources - The Literature team in the UK work together with the arts managers in British Council offices in more than 100 countries around the world to create programmes that help to build those important connections and increase mutual knowledge and understanding. We work with individuals and organisations from all parts of the UK literature sector and their international counterpart
Center for Hellenic Studies - The Center for Hellenic Studies is a leading centre of classicists, researchers and educators at Harvard University. Many of the resources are freely available, and their publications include online handbooks, monographs, essays, digitised primary texts and apps.
English Association - The aim of the English Association is to further knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of the English language and its literatures and to foster good practice in its teaching and learning at all levels.
Institute of English Studies - is an internationally renowned research centre specialising in the history of the book, manuscript and print studies, textual scholarship, digital editing and new critical approaches to literary history.
Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics -the only institute in the world entirely devoted to psycholinguistics – the study of how we produce and understand language, and how we acquire these skills as first or second language learners.
National Poetry Library - The National Poetry Library is the largest public collection of modern poetry in the world.
The Poetry Foundation (USA) - The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture.
The Poetry Society -The Poetry Society was founded in 1909 and grown into one of Britain's most dynamic arts organisations, representing British poetry both nationally and internationally.
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust - the independent charity that cares for the world’s greatest Shakespeare heritage sites in Stratford-upon-Avon, and promotes the enjoyment and understanding of his works, life and times all over the world
University English - founded in 1993 to promote the study of English in higher education, and to provide opportunities for English lecturers to meet colleagues from other institutions and discuss matters of shared concern.
BBC Archive: Talking Hamlet - interview with Michael Billington on the Royal Shakespeare Company's new production of 'Hamlet', starring 'Doctor Who' actor David Tennant. They are joined by Simon Russell Beale, to discuss the merits of actors who are known for their TV work venturing onto the stage.
BBC Arts: Poetry site -Archived materials which includes recordings of poets reading their own works.
BBC Voices - Archived website of resources based on a survey of dialects of English and attitudes towards language in the UK in the early 21st century.
International Database of Shakespeare on film, television and radio - authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings, regularly updated and currently holds over 9,200 records dating from the 1890s to the present day.
Lit2Go - a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages
Poetry Archive - a not-for-profit organisation that produces, acquires and preserves recordings of poets reading their own work out loud
Always be careful when citing material found on the Internet - be sure you are using a reputable source and all information or data mentioned is referenced or acknowledged. Websites ending in .gov.uk are official government sites, .ac.uk are official college/university sites - but anyone can use .co.uk, .com or .org.
