The following are books, reports and magazines by/ about the University & former colleges: The University archives are now held at Derbyshire record Office in Matlock
Books
Dobson, Margaret (1951) The history of the first hundred years of the Diocesan Training College Derby. Printed and produced by Kenrick & Jefferson, 1951 Note: Includes supplement "A continuation of Margaret Dobson's centenary history of the Diocesan Training College, Derby".
Fineran, John (2006) The Derby Schools of Art, Science, and Technology 1853-2003. University of Derby, Faculty of Arts, Design & Technology.
Hyde, C (2014) A beacon for guidance: how the International Centre for Guidance Studies has been influencing policy and practice for 16 years
Jegede, F (1995) Smoking among university students: a study of the University of Derby (an exercise in questionnaire survey & data handling)
Lambert, J. (1978) The development of Matlock College of Education 1946-76. MEd dissertation, Matlock College of Higher Education.
Parmar, S (2014) Climbing mountains: my final year at the University of Derby
Rowlands, J. C. (1981) Creation and development of a College of Higher Education : a Study of Derby. MA Thesis Derby.
Trevett, Michael Edwin (1988) The history of Derby Municipal Technical College and its successors, 1899-1977. Thesis (M.Ph.) University of Nottingham.
University of Derby, Division of Earth Sciences (1996) Geology centenary 1896-1996: centenary review seminar: a century of geology - past and future perspectives. University of Derby
University of Derby (2007 ) Writers' Reign present their Buxton Festival Fringe performance in the Dome, University of Derby, Buxton, Friday 13th July 2007
Williams, L (2009 ) What we wrote: an anthology of prose and poetry from the students of the University of Derby
Derbyshire Family Health Services Authority & University of Derby University of Derby (1993). Student health survey. University of Derby; Derbyshire FHSA.
Dr Hugo Harries BSc, FRSC, C.Chem, Reader in Chemistry and Head of Chemistry, the University of Derby: a tribute prepared by the East Midlands Branch of the Royal Society of Chemistry to mark Hugo's forty five years of service to the Society. University of Derby; Royal Society of Chemistry. East Midlands Branch.
Laboratory notes: mineralogy. 1951. Reputed to be the practical work of, W.A. Richardson the former Principal of Derby Technical College.
Derby School of Art Magazine. Vol 1 1927 - vol 5 (1) 1933.
Review: the annual research journal of the School of Art and Design. 1996-1997. University of Derby. School of Art and Design.
Review 2. University of Derby. School of Art and Design Book. 2001. University of Derby.
Derbyshire College of Higher Education. School of Photography (1983) The Derby School of Photography 1973-1983. Derbyshire College of Higher Education. School of Photography.
Sadler, Richard (1992) Retrospective 1950-1990 (Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Derbyshire College of Higher Education). Derby: R. Sadler
Derby Technical College (1952) A memorial to William Alfred Richardson: presented by the staff of Derby Technical College on his retirement. Printed by the College of Art.
Students history of Derbyshire Joseph Wright Secondary School of Art; Derby and District College of Art 1960
Richardson, W.A. (1939) The technical college. (former principal of Derby Technical College).
Brigthon, T. (1991) 150 years: the church colleges in higher education. West Sussex Institute of Higher Education. (case study on Derbyshire College of Higher Education).
Price, Barbara (1959) Technical colleges and colleges of further education. Batsford. (chapter on Derby & District College of Art & Technology).
Osborne, R. H. & Molyneux, F. H. (1981) A spatial survey of students in higher education in the East Midlands. Department of Geography (and) School of Education, University of Nottingham.
Magazines & Journals
College News (Derby Technical College Students' Association / Derby & District College of Technology Students' Union) No. 1 1938 - no. 7 1941, no. 9 1943 - no. 14 1946. Renamed GEN, 1949 - 1954, 1965-1973
Connected (University of Derby Magazine) 2005-2013
Derby School of Art Magazine. vol 1 1927 - vol 5 (1) 1933. Local Collection 700.5 DER. Vols 1- 3 bound. Also unbound 1(3) 1927,, 1(4) 1928, 1(5) 1928, 2(2) 1930, 3(1) 1930, 3(3) 1931, 4(1) 1931, 4(3) 1932, 5(1) 1933 & undated Special Number. From vol 2 Named The Buck in the Park: Derby School of Art Magazine.
Geographical & Geological Society, Derby College of Art & Technology. Includes: Journal of the Derby College of Art & Technology Geographical & Geological Society no.1 & no.2 1973. Journal of the Geographical Society no. 4 1974. Geological Society Magazine no. 4 1976/77. Derby College of Art & Technology Geology Society Journal vol 1 part 1 1974, Subduction (Magazine of the Derby College of Art & Technology Geology Society) no 2 1976
Peak Points (Derbyshire College of Higher Education/ University of Derby Newsletter) 1990-1992 (incomplete)
PINNACLE (Projects & Research in the University of Derby. An in-house journal produced within the Faculty of Education, Health & Social Sciences / the School of Education & Social Sciences) 1-3, 1992-1994
Reports & Pamphlets
Department of Education and Science. Inspectorate of Schools ( 1988) Report by HM Inspectors on Derbyshire College of Higher Education initial teacher training. Department of Education and Science.
Derbyshire College of Higher Education & Council for National Academic Awards (1984) CNAA institutional visit, March 1984.. Derbyshire College of Higher Education.
Department of Education and Science. Inspectorate of Schools (1989). Report by HM Inspectors on Derbyshire College of Higher Education: aspects of provision. Department of Education and Science.
Derby & District College of Art. Official opening ceremony September 1966. (Local Collection Pamphlet Box)
Derbyshire College of Higher Education (1985) College manual. Derbyshire College of Higher Education (Local Collection Pamphlet Box)
Derbyshire College of Higher Education. 1985. Report (TE/DAN) TE = Trevor Easingwood (Local Collection Pamphlet Box)
Former College Annual Research Reports - shelved at the end of the Local Collection
Derby Technical College Annual Report 1948 - 1956 (includes Annual Report of the Staff Council & Annual Report of the Research Council )
Derby and District College of Technology Annual Report 1956 - 1962-63 (includes Annual Report of the Staff Council)
Derby and District College of Technology Research Council Annual Report 1956 volume 1 -1969-70 vol.XIV,
Derby College of Art and Technology Research Committee Annual Report vol. XV 1971;
Derby College of Art and Technology Annual Research Report vol. XVI 1972 - vol. XVIII 1974;
Derby College of Art and Technology / Bishop Lonsdale College of Education Annual Research Report vol. XX 1976;
Derby Lonsdale College of Higher Education Annual Research Report vol. XXI 1977 - vol. XXVI 1982;
Derbyshire College of Higher Education Annual Research Report vol. XXVII 1983
