Newspapers may be useful to you as you progress through your Education degree.
They provide current and historical context to events and, often, first-hand accounts of how things happened from the perspective of journalist/reporter.
They offer a wealth of material for your research and can add real interpretive value to the assessed work that you must complete.
The library provides you with many different sources of historical newspapers that you can discover here and easily access digitally.
Why might I need this database?
Gale OneFile: News is the primary newspaper resources available to you from the library. It contains just under 4,000 different publications from around the world, and it contains over 750 from the United Kingdom. It provides either archival or current access to its content—and sometimes both.
How do I access Gale OneFile: News?
You can access it from the Databases list on the Library homepage. Just search under 'G', and you will find it. Alternatively, you can follow the highlighted link here.
How does it relate to Library Search?
Gale OneFile: News does provide its content to Library Search. This means that if you search Library Search, then you should 'theoretically' be searching Gale OneFile: News. But, I would advise searching Gale OneFile: News separately, too, as you will have greater control of the search functionality. The key message, though, is make sure you're thinking about Gale OneFile: News when doing research.
Historical newspapers can shed light on how topics related to Education were discussed in the past. For example, historical newspapers can help you find information about historical figures, and they can help you understood how societies throughout history viewed topics such as SEND, schooling, and the role of the teacher.
The library provides you with many different sources of historical newspapers that you can discover here and easily access digitally.
Gale 19th Century British Library Newspapers
This archive includes the archive of over 50 regional and national newspapers from the 19th century.
Titles include Glasgow Herald, Manchester Times, and Northern Echo.
This archive includes the archive of over 90 periodicals (magazines, journals, and some newspapers) from the 19th century.
The collection covers many different titles that reveal life in the nineteenth century and which will be a valuable resources for exploring changing attitudes to life in the UK and the UK's developing society.
This archive includes the archive of over 1000 newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries.
It also includes Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations.
Newspaper titles include Bath Chronicle, Calcutta Chronicle and General Advertiser, and Dublin Gazette.
The Times and The Telegraph Archives
The library provides a digital archive of The Telegraph from 1855-2016 and The Times from 1785-2019.
