BBC Writers Room - "discover, develop and champion new and experienced writing talent across the whole of the UK."
British Archive for Contemporary Writing - A growing collection of contemporary authors’ manuscripts, correspondence and related literary material. Including a small selection of online exhibits.
British Library Treasures in Full: Shakespeare - See 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Poetry - This code of best practices helps poets understand when they and others have the right to excerpt, quote and use copyrighted material in poetry.
Folger Shakespeare Library - "Shakespeare's world belongs to you...Come explore"
For Better for Verse - "An interactive learning tool that can help you understand what makes metered poetry in English tick," this playful guide includes a number of poems with which you can test your own knowledge of scansion.
Internet Classics Archive - access to over 400 works of classical literature
Internet Writing Journal - "an online magazine covering literature and writing. The IWJ is home to articles, book reviews, author interviews, literary features and more."
New Yorker - website of influential New York magazine
Paris Review Interviews - The Paris Review has long conducted in-depth interviews with writers in all genres, ranging from fiction to nonfiction, drama to poetry. Much of the magazine's interview archive is now available to non-subscribers.
QAA Subject Benchmark Creative Writing - Subject Benchmark Statements describe the nature of study and the academic standards expected of graduates in specific subject areas
Reading Digital Fiction - aim to introduce digital fiction to a wider audience
Shooting People - a vibrant community of independent filmmakers
Short Stories at East of the Web - You can browse the library by genre or search it for a title, author or keyword. Stories can be read online, printed or downloaded for reading offline or on handheld devices.
The ShortStory - "Our aim is to publish the best contemporary short stories and flash fiction in the English language and provide insightful news and views on short fiction"
Storycenter - "create spaces for listening to and sharing stories, to help build a just and healthy world."
Touchstone Research tool for Shakespeare research in the United Kingdom.
Voice of the Shuttle : Creative Writing - gathers link about writing, quotes, resources and general info.
The Writer's Beat - The Writer's Beat writing forums discuss various topics related to the art of writing.
Association of Writers & Writing - AWP provides community, opportunities, ideas, news, and advocacy for writers and teachers of writing.
Book Trust - Book Trust is the largest reading charity in the UK.
British Council Arts site: Literature resources - The Literature team in the UK work together with the arts managers in British Council offices in more than 100 countries around the world to create programmes that help to build those important connections and increase mutual knowledge and understanding. We work with individuals and organisations from all parts of the UK literature sector and their international counterpart
Center for Hellenic Studies - The Center for Hellenic Studies is a leading centre of classicists, researchers and educators at Harvard University. Many of the resources are freely available, and their publications include online handbooks, monographs, essays, digitised primary texts and apps.
Coalition for Community Writing - Community engaged writing projects
Derbyshire Scriptwriters - developing scripts for various genres including film, television, theatre and radio. Provided training in script development, treatment writing and script reading etc. for our members and guests
English Association - The aim of the English Association is to further knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of the English language and its literatures and to foster good practice in its teaching and learning at all levels.
Folklore Society - For the study of all aspects of folklore and tradition, including: ballads, folktales, fairy tales, myths, legends, traditional song and dance, folk plays, games, seasonal events, calendar customs, childlore and children's folklore, folk arts and crafts, popular belief, folk religion, material culture, vernacular language, sayings, proverbs and nursery rhymes, folk medicine, plantlore and weather lore.
Institute of English Studies - is an internationally renowned research centre specialising in the history of the book, manuscript and print studies, textual scholarship, digital editing and new critical approaches to literary history.
National Association of Writers in Education -N AWE's mission is to advocate for Creative Writing: enhancing knowledge and understanding of the subject and supporting writers and good practice in teaching and facilitation in all settings.
National Book Critics Circle -honors outstanding writing and fosters a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature.
National Centre for Writing - National Centre for Writing celebrates and explores the artistic and social power of creative writing and literary translation
National Poetry Library - The National Poetry Library is the largest public collection of modern poetry in the world.
The Poetry Foundation (USA) - The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture.
The Poetry Society -The Poetry Society was founded in 1909 and grown into one of Britain's most dynamic arts organisations, representing British poetry both nationally and internationally.
Writers Guild of Great Britain - The writers' union
ABC Data Hub - providing data analysis and industry reports for newspapers and magazines. We offer free access to ABC historical data and reports (back to year 2000) to students and tutors of UK educational establishments with a verified academic email address.
Article 19 - reporting on freedom of expression, and campaign to safeguard pluralism, independence and diversity of views in the media.
First Draft - , providing practical and ethical guidance in how to find, verify and publish content sourced from the social web. An international Partner Network of newsrooms, universities, platforms and civil society organizations.
The Journal of Electronic Publishing - The Journal of Electronic Publishing is an open access journal that publishes research about contemporary publishing practices.
The Journal of Publishing Culture - The Journal of Publishing Culture is an open access journal that examines the historical development of publishing.
Magculture - A design studio, website and journal relating to magazine culture, design and editing. "everything we do celebrates magazines while questioning what their future might be"
Media UK - Media contacts, news and analysis for the UK, Australia, Ireland, Gibraltar and the world.
Nielsen BookScan UK - provides a range of services to the book industry internationally, aiding the discovery and purchase, distribution and sales measurement of books.
Open Library of Humanities - Free resource of journals and books in the humanities.
Poynter Institute - Teaches and provides resources for those who manage, edit, produce, program, report, write, blog, photograph and design.
Publishers Weekly - weekly news magazine focused on the international book publishing business. It is targeted at publishers, booksellers, librarians, literary agents, authors and the media.
UK Reading Experience Database - A database containing information about who read what and how in the UK between 150 and 1945. Use this to study the reading habits of Britons for five centuries.
Writers and Artists - Provides industry advice for writers and artists.
Association of Learned & Professional Society Publishers - ALPSP is the international trade association which supports and represents not-for-profit organizations that publish scholarly and professional content.
Book Industry Communication - is an independent organisation set up and sponsored by the Publishers Association, Booksellers Association, the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals and the British Library to promote supply chain efficiency in all sectors of the book world through e-commerce and the application of standard processes and procedures.
Book Trust - BookTrust is the largest reading charity in the UK. "We work to inspire a love of reading in children"
The British Library - With over 150 million items, the British Library serves business and industry, researchers, academics and students, in the UK and world-wide
Copyright Licensing Agency - The CLA is a licensing body set up and owned by the Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society Ltd. (ALCS) and the Publishers' Licensing Society Ltd. (PLS) to perform collective licensing on their behalf.
Department for Digital, Culture Media and Sport - "We protect and promote our cultural and artistic heritage and help businesses and communities to grow by investing in innovation and highlighting Britain as a fantastic place to visit"
Independent Publishers Guild - Supporting Independent publishers
IPG Podcast - These podcasts take you inside the services and events of the IPG and tackle some of today’s hot publishing issues. Where are the big opportunities and challenges in the world of publishing today? This podcast supplies answers and insights from some of the independent sector’s most experienced leaders.
Intellectual Property Office The Intellectual Property Office (IPO) is the official UK government body responsible for intellectual property (IP) rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright
Professional Publishers Association - The Professional Publishers Association (PPA) represents around 220 companies
The Publishers Association - The leading representative voice for books, journal, audio and electronic publishers in the UK
World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers - Global organisation of the world’s press.
BBC Arts: Poetry site -Archived materials which includes recordings of poets reading their own works.
Children's Poetry Archive - a place where you can listen to poems read out loud. We have poems read by the poets who wrote them as well as poems which other people have recorded for us. We think everyone has a favourite poem, it’s just that they haven’t heard it out loud yet. We hope you find your favourite here.
Easy French Poetry - Camille Chevalier–Karfis reads classic French poems by Rimbaud, Baudelaire and others.
Getty Images - Getty Images Archive, which at 80 million photographs and growing, is the world’s largest commercial collection.
Imaginary Advice - Podcast by Ross Sutherland, which showcases his storytelling abilities.
Lit2Go - a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. An abstract, citation, playing time, and word count are given for each of the passages
The Moth - Award-winning storytelling podcast from America. Participants include Salman Rushdie, Annie Proulx, Malcolm Gladwell.
Pixabay - Over 1.4 million royalty free stock photos and videos.
The Penguin Podcast - Podcast from the publishing house, Penguin, highlighting stories based on set themes.
New Yorker Podcasts - politics, fiction and poetry podcasts
Pennsound - PennSound archives "new audio recordings" and "existing audio archives," with a special emphasis on contemporary/avant-garde poetry.
Poetry Archive - Ta not-for-profit organisation that produces, acquires and preserves recordings of poets reading their own work out loud.
This American Life - Popular podcast which reports weekly on a theme and a variety of stories on that theme. It's mostly true stories of everyday people, though not always.
UbuWebb - In addition to archiving many avant-garde musical recordings and film clips, UbuWeb is an invaluable repository of poetic texts and theoretical manifestos.
Web of Stories - Web of Stories offers you the chance to listen to people of our time telling their life stories.
Always be careful when citing material found on the Internet - be sure you are using a reputable source and all information or data mentioned is referenced or acknowledged. Websites ending in .gov.uk are official government sites, .ac.uk are official college/university sites - but anyone can use .co.uk, .com or .org.
