Skip to Main Content

Sociology

Grey Literature

Grey literature, encompassing materials produced outside of traditional academic or commercial channels, is a goldmine of information for sociology students. This treasure trove of research extends beyond scholarly books and journals, offering a unique window into the social world.

Why Grey Literature is Crucial for Your Sociological Studies:

  • Real-World Applications: Grey literature bridges the gap between sociological theories and real-world social phenomena. You'll find reports from government agencies, non-profit organisations, community groups, and advocacy groups that illuminate how social policies are formulated, implemented, and experienced by individuals and communities.
  • Diverse Perspectives: Grey literature provides a platform for marginalised voices and underrepresented groups, offering diverse perspectives on social issues often overlooked in mainstream publications. You can access personal narratives, community reports, and grassroots publications that shed light on the lived experiences of diverse social groups.
  • Emerging Social Trends: Grey literature often captures emerging social trends and issues before they become mainstream topics of academic research. It provides insights into evolving social movements, community initiatives, and new approaches to addressing social problems.
  • Comparative Analysis: Accessing grey literature from different countries and regions enables comparative analysis of social policies, practices, and outcomes, enriching your understanding of how social issues are addressed in various contexts.
  • Primary Source Material: Grey literature includes primary source material such as government reports, policy documents, community surveys, and ethnographic studies, offering firsthand accounts and raw data that can inform your sociological research.

By delving into grey literature, sociology students can gain a deeper understanding of the complex social world, challenge dominant narratives, and uncover hidden insights that enrich their research and broaden their perspectives.

How It Differs From Academic Sources:

Feature Grey Literature Academic Sources (Books, Journal Articles)
Publication process Informal, non-commercial channels (e.g., government reports, policy briefs, NGO publications) Rigorous peer-review process, ensuring quality and adherence to scholarly standards
Availability Can be harder to find, often through specialised sources (e.g., government websites, organisational repositories) Widely available in libraries (both physical and digital) and academic databases (e.g., JSTOR, ProQuest)
Authors Varied: government officials, policy analysts, NGO representatives, community activists, practitioners Primarily scholars, academics, and researchers with expertise in the field
Purpose Diverse: inform, advocate, document, analyse, influence policy, give voice to marginalised groups Disseminate scholarly research, contribute to theoretical debates, advance knowledge in the field
Strengths Offers unique perspectives, practical insights, real-world data, up-to-date information on current issues, and diverse voices Provides in-depth analysis, rigorous methodology, theoretical frameworks, and contributes to the broader body of knowledge
Limitations May be biased, lack peer review, vary in quality, and be difficult to locate May be less accessible to the public, can be theoretical or jargon-heavy, and may not always address the latest developments

 

Types of Grey Literature Valuable for Sociological Research:

  • Policy Briefs: Concise summaries of policy issues with recommendations for action can reveal the motivations and priorities of policymakers, as well as the potential social impacts of proposed policies.
  • Government Reports: Official reports from government agencies on diverse topics (e.g., census data, crime statistics, public health assessments) offer valuable insights into the social, economic, and cultural contexts of policy decisions, as well as the impact of these decisions on different social groups.
  • Think Tank Reports: Research papers and analyses from think tanks provide independent perspectives and policy recommendations, often highlighting alternative viewpoints and potential unintended consequences of social policies.
  • NGO Reports: Reports and publications from NGOs offer firsthand accounts of social problems and advocacy perspectives, highlighting the lived experiences of marginalised communities and the challenges they face.
  • International Organisation Reports: Reports from international organizations (e.g., World Health Organization, UNICEF) provide insights into global social trends, development initiatives, and the impact of international policies on local communities.
  • White Papers: Authoritative reports on specific topics or policy proposals can reveal the rationale behind policy decisions, the interests of different stakeholders, and the potential social consequences of different policy options.
  • Legislative Analyses: Detailed analyses of proposed or enacted legislation can help sociologists understand the legal frameworks governing social issues, the potential impact of new laws on different social groups, and the role of law in shaping social behavior.
  • Transcripts of Speeches and Interviews: Transcripts of speeches and interviews with key figures offer valuable insights into the perspectives, motivations, and decision-making processes of those in power, revealing the underlying social and political dynamics that shape social policies.
  • Social Media Content: While not strictly grey literature, social media posts by government officials, organisations, and experts can provide real-time insights into public discourse on social issues, the mobilisation of social movements, and the formation of public opinion.
  • Community Reports and Newsletters: Local community organisations often produce reports and newsletters that document the challenges faced by their communities, the initiatives they undertake, and the outcomes of their efforts.
  • Dissertations and Theses: Unpublished dissertations and theses can contain valuable sociological research and data that may not be available in published sources.
  • Conference Proceedings and Papers: Conference papers and presentations often contain cutting-edge research and preliminary findings that have not yet been published in academic journals.
  • Working Papers and Technical Reports: These documents, often produced by research institutions or government agencies, can offer in-depth analyses of specific social issues and policy proposals.

For a more detailed list of different types of grey literature, vist this link at GreyNet.org

Where to Find Grey Literature Relevant to Sociology:

  • Government Websites: National and international government websites are rich repositories of policy papers, white papers, country reports, press releases, speeches, and official statements. These sources reveal the official stances, priorities, and narratives of governments on a wide range of social issues, from inequality and discrimination to healthcare and education.
    • Example: UK Government's Race Disparity Unit  - Examines racial disparities in areas like education, employment, and criminal justice.
    • Example: US Census Bureau's American Community Survey - Provides detailed data on demographics, housing, and social characteristics of the US population.
  • Court Websites: Court websites, particularly those of international courts and tribunals, provide access to case summaries, press releases, unpublished judgments, and statistics related to human rights, social justice, and legal interpretations of social issues. These resources offer a glimpse into the legal construction of social problems and the role of the judiciary in shaping social norms and values.
  • NGO Websites: Non-governmental organisation (NGO) websites are treasure troves of research reports, policy briefs, advocacy materials, case studies, and firsthand accounts of social problems. These sources often offer alternative perspectives, grassroots narratives, and critical analyses of social issues, challenging dominant discourses and amplifying marginalised voices.
  • Professional Associations: Professional associations in fields like sociology, social work, and public policy often publish conference papers, presentations, and proceedings that showcase cutting-edge research and analysis on social issues. These sources can provide valuable insights into emerging trends and debates within the field.
  • Think Tank Websites: Think tank websites offer policy briefs, research reports, working papers, and expert commentaries on a wide range of social issues. These sources often represent diverse ideological perspectives and policy approaches, contributing to a nuanced understanding of complex social problems.
  • Specialised Websites: Numerous websites specialise in specific social issues, such as poverty, inequality, migration, and environmental justice. These websites often provide data, statistics, reports, and analyses that can inform sociological research.
  • University Repositories: University repositories often house unpublished research, including dissertations, theses, working papers, and conference presentations. These sources can provide valuable insights into current research trends and offer a platform for discovering new perspectives and data. 
    • Example: UDORA  - A repository of research from your own University of Derby, including articles, book chapters, research data and conference presentations by your own lecturers.
    • Example: Directory of Open Access Repositories - An authoritative directory of academic open access institutional repositories.
  • Social Media: While not strictly grey literature, social media platforms can offer real-time insights into social movements, public discourse on social issues, and the mobilisation of collective action. Social media analysis can be a valuable tool for understanding the dynamics of social change and the role of online platforms in shaping public opinion.
    • Example: X (Twitter) hashtags related to social movements (e.g., #BlackLivesMatter, #MeToo) - Provides real-time insights into public discourse, activist mobilisation, and the evolution of social movements.
    • Example: Facebook groups dedicated to specific social issues (e.g., environmental justice, disability rights) - Offers a platform for community discussions, information sharing, and organising around social causes.
  • Community Organisations and Activist Groups: Local community organisations and activist groups often produce reports, newsletters, and other materials documenting their work, challenges, and successes. These sources provide invaluable insights into grassroots perspectives, community-based solutions, and the lived experiences of marginalised groups.
    • Example: Local food bank newsletters - Provides information on the extent of food insecurity in the community and the efforts to address it.
    • Example: LGBTQ+ community centre news on local discrimination and advocacy efforts - Offers insights into the challenges faced by LGBTQ+ individuals and the work being done to promote equality and inclusion.

Google:

In addition to using Google to find sources of grey literature, you can also use the Advanced Search to search within particular sites or domains as well. This is often more effective than using the site's own search engine, plus you can specify types of files (i.e. most reports and publications will be .PDF files) and date updated.

To search within a particular website using Google Advanced Search, put the domain URL in the 'site or domain' field - for example, .gov.uk/government/organisations/home-office. This will search just within the Home Office. Using .un.org will just search within the website of the United Nations.

(If you're not sure which part of the URL to use, basically take everything after the www, including the full stop.)

Custom Google Searches:

A number of custom Google searches have been helpfully set up by other librarians and/or librarians.

Custom Google Search: