Skip to Main Content

Sociology

Staying Ahead of the Curve: Keeping Current with Sociology Research

The social landscape is constantly evolving. New cultural trends emerge, societal norms shift, policies change, and groundbreaking research reshapes our understanding of the world around us. As a sociology student, it's essential to develop the skills to keep your research current and ensure the information you rely on is accurate, relevant, and up-to-date.

Why Updating Research Matters

  • Avoiding outdated information: Societies, technologies, and cultural practices are dynamic. Relying on outdated information can lead to flawed analyses, missed nuances, and misguided interpretations of social phenomena.
  • Ensuring accuracy: Updating your research guarantees you're referencing the most recent data, trends, and analyses, accurately reflecting the current state of social issues and debates.
  • Building a strong argument: Incorporating the latest sociological insights and research findings into your work demonstrates thoroughness, credibility, and a commitment to staying informed about the complexities of the social world.

Useful Resources

  • Alerts: Set up email alerts for specific topics, keywords, or authors within major social science databases like JSTOR, Social Sciences Citation Index, or Web of Science to receive notifications when new information is published.
  • Social media: Follow leading sociologists, academic journals like the American Sociological Review, and relevant organisations like the British Sociological Association (BSA) on platforms like Twitter or Mastodon to stay informed about emerging trends and discussions.
  • ResearchGate or Academia.edu: These platforms allow you to follow researchers, discover new publications, and engage in discussions with academics in your field.
  • Google Scholar: Create custom alerts for specific keywords or phrases related to your research interests (e.g., "gender inequality," "social movements," "urbanisation") to receive notifications when new content appears online.
  • News and Media Outlets: Stay informed about current events and social issues by following reputable news outlets like The Guardian, The New York Times, or Al Jazeera.

By actively employing these resources and strategies, you'll stay ahead of the curve in the ever-changing world of social research, ensuring your analyses and interpretations are always based on the most current and relevant information available.

The social world is in constant flux, with new trends, ideologies, and policies emerging rapidly. To understand these shifts and contribute to sociological discourse, it's crucial to stay abreast of the latest social research. Here are some effective strategies and resources to help you stay informed:

Social Science Databases:

  • SocINDEX: This comprehensive database provides access to a wide range of sociological literature, including journal articles, books, and conference papers. Set up email alerts for specific topics or keywords to receive updates on new research.
  • Web of Science: This multidisciplinary database indexes a vast collection of scholarly literature, including social science research. Use it to search for articles and set up alerts for specific topics or authors.

  • Social Science Research Network: A repository for preprints devoted to the rapid dissemination of scholarly research in the social sciences, humanities, life sciences, and health sciences, among others. Subscribe to receive alerts about the latest submitted content.

Journal Articles:

  • Library Search: Set up alerts for searches to receive emails whenever new articles that match your search terms are added.
  • BrowZine/Journals: Add key sociological titles to My Bookshelf in BrowZine and choose from daily or weekly email alerts whenever any new articles are published in them.

News and Media Sources:

  • The Guardian: This newspaper offers comprehensive coverage of social issues, politics, and culture in the UK. Subscribe to their newsletters or follow them on social media for updates on current events and analysis.
  • The Conversation: This online platform features articles written by academics and researchers on a wide range of social topics. Sign up for their newsletter to receive notifications of new articles in your areas of interest.
  • Open Democracy: This independent media platform publishes articles and analysis on social justice, democracy, and human rights issues. Follow them on social media or subscribe to their newsletters for updates.

Social Media:

  • Twitter/Mastodon: Follow sociologists, research centres, and organisations like the British Sociological Association to stay informed about current research, conferences, and debates.
  • ResearchGate or Academia.edu: These platforms allow you to follow researchers, discover new publications, and engage in discussions with academics in your field.

Industry Events and Conferences:

  • Conferences and Webinars: Participate in events organised by professional associations like the British Sociological Association, research centres, and universities to network with experts, learn about new research findings, and gain insights into emerging trends. Many offer discounted rates for students.

Additional Resources:

Google Alerts is a free tool that allows you to monitor the web for new content related to your chosen keywords. While primarily designed for news and general web content, it can also be a valuable resource for sociology students to stay informed about social trends, emerging research, and public discourse. Here's how you can use it effectively:

Setting Up Google Alerts for Sociological Research

  1. Go to Google Alerts: Visit the Google Alerts website.

  2. Enter Your Search Terms:

    • Sociological Concepts: Track discussions and news related to specific concepts you're interested in (e.g., "social inequality," "gender studies," "gentrification").
    • Social Issues: Monitor broad social issues and trends (e.g., "racial justice," "climate change activism," "mental health stigma").
    • Research Topics: Stay informed about specific research areas or methodologies (e.g., "qualitative research methods," "social network analysis," "critical race theory").
    • Public Figures or Organisations: Track mentions of influential sociologists, activists, or organisations relevant to your research (e.g., "bell hooks," "Black Lives Matter," "The Sociological Review").

  3. Customise Your Alerts:

    • Sources: Choose the types of sources you want to monitor (e.g., news, blogs, academic papers).
    • Region: Select the geographic region relevant to your research (e.g., United States, Global).
    • Frequency: Determine how often you want to receive alerts (e.g., daily, weekly, as-it-happens).

Tips for Using Google Alerts in Sociological Research

  • Refine Your Search Terms: Experiment with different combinations of keywords and phrases to find the most relevant alerts.
  • Use Quotation Marks: Enclose phrases in quotation marks to search for exact matches (e.g., "intersectionality theory").
  • Exclude Terms: Use the minus sign (-) to exclude irrelevant terms (e.g., "Marx -Groucho").
  • Combine Search Terms: Use the "OR" operator to search for multiple terms (e.g., "feminist theory OR gender studies").
  • Be Selective: Don't overload your inbox. Start with a few essential alerts and add more as needed.
  • Verify Information: Always critically assess the information from Google Alerts. Consider the source's credibility and potential biases before incorporating it into your research.

Benefits and Limitations

Benefits: Google Alerts can help you:

  • Stay up-to-date with emerging social trends and debates.
  • Discover new research and publications in your field.
  • Track public discourse and media representation of social issues.
  • Identify potential research questions and areas of interest.

Limitations: Google Alerts may not capture all relevant sociological information, especially in-depth academic analyses or specialised research. It's best used as a complementary tool to your broader research strategy.