Google Scholar, a specialised search engine designed for academic research, is an invaluable tool for sociology students seeking to explore the vast landscape of sociological literature and beyond. By indexing scholarly literature across various disciplines, including sociology, social work, anthropology, psychology, and related fields, Google Scholar allows you to discover relevant research articles, theses, books, conference papers, and other scholarly materials.
How Google Scholar Enhances Sociological Research:
- Interdisciplinary Exploration: Google Scholar's broad scope enables you to explore sociological research from an interdisciplinary perspective, uncovering connections between sociology and other fields like psychology, economics, and political science. This can enrich your understanding of complex social phenomena and spark new research ideas.
- Discovering Diverse Perspectives: Google Scholar can lead you to a wide range of sociological perspectives and theoretical frameworks, exposing you to diverse voices and debates within the field. This can help you develop a more nuanced understanding of social issues and challenge your own assumptions.
- Uncovering Hidden Gems: Google Scholar's algorithm sometimes surfaces lesser-known or underrepresented sociological research that might not be easily discoverable through traditional library catalogues and databases. This can lead you to unique and valuable sources that can enrich your research.
- Citation Tracking: Google Scholar's citation tracking feature allows you to explore the scholarly conversations surrounding specific sociological works, identifying influential articles, authors, and research trends. This can help you situate your own research within the broader field of sociology.
Important Considerations When Using Google Scholar:
- Pre-print Versions: Be aware that some versions of papers found on Google Scholar may be pre-prints, which are early versions of articles that have not yet undergone peer review. Always verify that you are accessing the final, published version of an article for the most accurate and reliable information.
- Paywalls: Some articles found on Google Scholar may be behind paywalls, meaning you may need to pay a fee or have a subscription to access the full text. This is where Lean Library comes in handy!
Lean Library: Your Gateway to Full-Text Access
To enhance your Google Scholar experience and overcome paywall barriers, the library provides Lean Library, a browser extension that seamlessly integrates with Google Scholar. It indicates whether the University of Derby provides access to the full text of the articles you find, and if so, provides a direct link to access the article through the library's subscriptions. This streamlines your research process and ensures you can access the resources you need without incurring additional costs.
Comparing Google Scholar and Library Search:
While both Google Scholar and Library Search offer access to scholarly literature, they have distinct advantages:
- Library Search: Provides a comprehensive, curated collection of resources specifically tailored to the needs of University of Derby students and researchers. It offers clear information on availability and access, including the option to request interlibrary loans.
- Google Scholar: Offers a broader scope, potentially uncovering lesser-known or interdisciplinary sources. When combined with Lean Library, it provides a streamlined way to access full-text articles available through the university library.
Optimising Your Research Strategy:
For the most effective sociological research, it's recommended to use both Google Scholar (with Lean Library) and Library Search. This approach ensures you have access to the widest possible range of resources, combining the strengths of both platforms to uncover the most relevant and diverse sources for your research.
