Sociology

Monitoring the activities of Members of Parliament (MPs) can provide valuable insights for sociological research. By understanding MPs' stances, voting patterns, and engagement with social issues, you can gain a deeper understanding of the political landscape and its impact on society.

Why Track MP Activity?

• Understanding Policy Influence: Analysing MPs' voting records and speeches can reveal their influence on policy-making processes and the potential impact of their decisions on various social groups.
• Identifying Political Alignments: Tracking MPs' affiliations with political parties and voting blocs can help you understand the broader political landscape and the power dynamics at play.
• Examining Representation: Analysing the demographics and backgrounds of MPs can shed light on the representation of different social groups in Parliament and the potential biases in policy-making.
• Investigating Social Issues: Tracking MPs' engagement with specific social issues, such as inequality, education, or healthcare, can reveal their priorities and the extent to which they advocate for different social groups.
• Monitoring Political Discourse: Analysing MPs' speeches and statements can provide insights into the framing of social issues, the use of language to influence public opinion, and the role of ideology in political discourse.

How to Track MP Activity:

• Hansard: The official record of parliamentary debates, Hansard allows you to search for specific MPs and analyse their speeches and voting records on various issues.
• TheyWorkForYou: This website provides a user-friendly interface for tracking MPs' activities, including their voting records, speeches, and written questions.
• PublicWhip: This website provides a comprehensive record of MPs' voting records on various issues, allowing you to assess their voting patterns over time.
• MPs' Websites and Social Media: Many MPs maintain websites and social media accounts where they share their views, activities, and voting records.

Hansard is the official verbatim report of proceedings in the UK Parliament, including debates, questions, and other remarks made by Members of Parliament (MPs) and Members of the House of Lords. It dates back to the early 19th century and is named after Thomas Curson Hansard, who was the first official printer to the Parliament at Westminster. It offers unique insights into the legislative process, political discourse, and societal concerns, making it a valuable tool for sociological research and analysis.

Why Sociology Students Need Hansard:

• Understanding Social Issues: Hansard provides a historical record of how social issues have been debated and addressed in Parliament. This can help you understand the evolution of social policy, the different perspectives on social problems, and the factors that influence policy decisions.
• Analysing Political Discourse: By examining the language and arguments used by MPs, you can gain insights into the framing of social issues, the power dynamics at play, and the role of ideology in shaping political discourse.
• Researching Social Movements: Hansard can be used to track the impact of social movements on parliamentary debates and legislation, revealing how activism can influence policy change.
• Examining Public Opinion: Parliamentary debates often reflect public concerns and attitudes towards social issues. Analysing Hansard can help you gauge public opinion and understand how it interacts with the political process.

How to Use Hansard:

• Access: Hansard is freely available online through the UK Parliament website. You can search by date, keyword, MP, or topic.
• Navigate: Each volume is organised by date and house (Commons or Lords). You can find individual speeches and remarks within each section.
• Search Effectively: Use keywords and phrases relevant to your research topic. You can also filter by date, speaker, or topic to narrow down your search.
• Analyse Critically: Consider the context of the debate, the political affiliations of the speakers, and the potential biases in their arguments.
• Cite Properly: When using Hansard in your research, cite it correctly using the Harvard referencing style according to Cite Them Right.

Command papers are official documents presented to the UK Parliament by the government, offering valuable insights into government policy and proposed legislation on various social issues.

Why Sociology Students Need Command Papers:

• Understanding Social Policy: Command papers provide detailed information on government policies related to social issues such as healthcare, education, housing, and welfare. This can help you understand the government's approach to addressing these issues and the potential impact of these policies on society.
• Analysing Policy Development: By examining command papers over time, you can track the evolution of social policy, identify shifts in priorities, and understand the factors influencing policy decisions.
• Examining Social Issues: Command papers often contain data and analysis on various social issues, such as poverty, inequality, crime, and family structures. This information can be used to support sociological research and analysis.
• Engaging with Policy Debates: Command papers often spark public and parliamentary debates on social issues. Studying these documents allows you to engage with these debates, analsze different perspectives, and develop informed opinions.

Understanding Command Papers:

• Definition: Command papers are official government documents intended to inform and engage Parliament and the public on key policy issues and proposed legislation.
• Types: They come in various forms, such as:
  • State Papers: Involving treaties and international agreements
  • White Papers: Outlining government policy proposals and seeking feedback.
  • Green Papers: Presenting policy options for public consultation and debate.
  • Reports: Summarising findings of government inquiries, reviews, or research projects.
• Numbering: Each command paper is assigned a unique number, indicating the parliamentary session and series in which it was published.

Researching Command Papers:

• Online Sources:
  • Gov.uk: The government's official website publishes recent command papers and consultations.
• Library Resources:
  • Parliamentary Papers database: This comprehensive resource contains a vast collection of command papers, parliamentary debates, and other parliamentary publications.
  • Legal Databases: Some legal databases like Westlaw and Lexis include some command papers within their collections, particularly those related to legal reforms.

Search Strategies:

• Keyword Search: Use specific keywords related to your research topic (e.g., "penal reform," "Brexit," "international development") to find relevant command papers.
• Command Paper Number: If you know the specific command paper number, you can search for it directly.
• Check References: Look for references to command papers in academic articles, books, or news reports, which can lead you to relevant publications.

Analysing Command Papers:

• Read the Executive Summary: Start with the executive summary to get an overview of the document's key points and conclusions.
• Identify Key Proposals: Pay close attention to the specific policy proposals, legislative changes, or recommendations presented in the command paper.
• Consider the Context: Understand the political and social context in which the command paper was published, including the government's priorities, public opinion, and international developments.
• Consult Other Sources: Supplement your research with additional materials like parliamentary debates, news articles, academic commentary, and other government publications to gain a broader perspective on the issue.