Sustainable Development Goals Online (SDGO) database is a valuable resource for sociology students interested in understanding the social dimensions of sustainable development, social justice, and global inequalities. SDGO's interdisciplinary content and focus on the United Nations' 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) make it a relevant tool for sociological research and analysis.
What SDGO Offers Sociology Students:
- Interdisciplinary Perspectives: SDGO's large collection of journal articles and book chapters from various disciplines, including sociology, social work, economics, and environmental studies, allows you to explore the SDGs from multiple angles. This interdisciplinary approach can help you understand the complex social, economic, and environmental factors that contribute to sustainable development challenges.
- Social Justice and Inequality: SDGO's content covers a wide range of social issues related to the SDGs, such as poverty, inequality, gender equality, health, education, and social inclusion. This can help you understand the social dimensions of sustainable development and the role of social institutions in achieving a more just and equitable world.
- Global Perspectives: SDGO provides insights from diverse regions and contexts, allowing you to compare and contrast different approaches to sustainable development and social justice across the globe. This can help you understand the global interconnectedness of social problems and the need for collaborative solutions.
- Policy and Advocacy: SDGO's collection of case studies, reports, and analyses can help you understand the policy implications of the SDGs and the role of advocacy in promoting social change. This can be valuable for students interested in careers in social policy, advocacy, or community development.
- Research and Analysis: SDGO can be a valuable resource for research projects and assignments related to sustainable development, social justice, and global inequalities. The database's search functions and filters can help you quickly locate relevant sources and data for your analysis.
Accessing SDGO:
You can easily access the Sustainable Development Goals Online database through the library's website. Simply search for "SDGO" in the Databases A-Z or click the banner at the top of the page. While you can also find some SDGO content through Library Search, accessing the database directly allows you to browse by specific SDG, making it easier to focus your research on the social issues that interest you most (for example, Goal 2: Zero Hunger).
